How I Use Photos to Design Menu in AYCE K-BBQ Place

Sophia Jihye Yun
Sophia Yun Candle and Soap
3 min readOct 18, 2019

When they want lots of pictures in the menu, it’s not easy to plan it out.

They didn’t provide me with the photos, so I even bought it online.

1st Draft

I found all I could to make these photos work for the menu.

If they could provide me with the menu photo, it could have been better. :( Customers, counting myself in too, expect to come their food just like picture they see it on the menu.

Anyway they also wanted to list their menu at the right, I shrink photo part to the left.

2nd Draft (CMYK color, sorry for too red / green color you see)

Like this!

The confusing part was the ‘choose one’ part of the menu.

Since they are All You Can Eat place, person who pay the most should get all they want, but actually owner wants the second expensive menu to choose one out of five, when the person pays more get to choose one out of three.

I told him there seems to be an error, he told me he could fix it.

3rd Draft… (sorry for CMYK colored pic)

He wanted to add their soup menu too.

And I decided to give him a print out version, so he has an idea how it actually looks.

Print out

It could be totally different when you actually look at your menu. Your font can be not readable, your color can be printed too red or too yellow, anything can be seen differently.

And the owner said he wants different pictures, marking ‘x’ s.

Final Design

So I did!

He was satisfied with his new menu, saying things like it’s easier now to browse by his customers.

If you are a restaurant owner, it is a very good idea to get your reference, take a photo of menu from your favorite restaurant. And get a clear idea on how you want to help your customers use your menu.

Photos definitely help people to browse the menu. Sometimes, people order the food just because photo looks so nice to them.

Looking for a graphic designer? Hire Me at laonnethan.com

--

--