Why People Love Buying Candles

Sophia Jihye Yun
Sophia Yun Candle and Soap
4 min readNov 11, 2019

Including me; I love candles.

Photo by Anita Austvika on Unsplash
  • Aromatherapy at Home

I love fragrances and even though I know it’s a fake smell in the candles, I still love fake fragrances using fragrance oils such as sugar cookie smell or holiday tree smells.

I sometimes just want to smell hot coffee at home, I would rather light coffee candle, it’s efficient than brewing coffee which nobody drinks at my home.

I searched for candles using essential oils, but it’s not a good idea to burn essential oils, it only causes bad things. So I will just stick to what I want to smell, just fragrance oils.

It even works for bathroom smells. One of my bathroom doesn’t have a window, it takes time to get off with bad bathroom smells. I light five to ten minutes, and it’s all gone.

Photo by Mateusz Grabowski on Unsplash
  • Beautiful Look

Candle makes a room, no, a house look very gorgeous in a way. It just makes whole house look expensive, or cute.

Especially when you have a guest coming to your house, it’s nice to light some candles in kitchen and living room or in the entrance.

Most people use their candles in the living room in the coffee table, or in the kitchen, and lastly in the bedroom.

Photo by Kelsey Dody on Unsplash
  • Strong Mood Changer

When it doesn’t really feel like it’s the Christmas, or holidays, I would play holiday musics and burn candles. That changes everything.

My husband doesn’t really care any holiday themed decors, but only when I light candles for any reason, he just notices that something’s going on.

When I’m blue, I like to light up my candle and just watch it, smell it. I know it’s a fragrance oil, it doesn’t have any aromatherapy effect on me, yet I feel a little different.

Photo by Soroush Zargar on Unsplash
  • Lots of Different Fragrances

One of good things about candles is that I get to choose the fragrance. There are tons of fragrances out there, and still more coming.

I make my homemade candles at home, and I love to try new fragrances.

I get to choose what I want. That’s another thing I like about candles.

Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash
  • Handy and Nice Gifts

I don’t buy candles during summer. I buy a lot for winter, and birthdays.

Most of the time I buy for the holidays, or for the gifts, such as for regular parties, and invites, house warming gifts, and for the birthdays.

And it’s not a bad idea, for women friends. I am not sure for male friends, I am not sure if they are ever going to use it… But, nice holiday gifts.

Photo by DDP on Unsplash
  • DIY / Homemade Candles

I think it is the best idea for DIY gifts to your friends. It might be expensive to buy 20- or more candles for your friends.

But when you manufacture it at home, making 20, 40 4oz or even 8oz is not that expensive. The costs can be expensive when you have to buy everything, but you can always use alternative sources.

Here are some of the reasons I buy candles myself. I think this would be great list for my buyer’s need later when I am actually into business.

  1. Beautiful, unique look, and design, color
  2. Nice aroma, fragrance
  3. Holiday / gift uses

Now I would like to post some of my homemade candle portfolio, so I can sell my candles online! :)

Let’s make a small business out of this, and be my own boss later!

Thanks for reading :D

--

--