Cozy Corner: Corn On My Dinner Plate — Shrug

Alejandro Gawlik Coste
KOTATSUN
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2019

Corn On My Dinner Plate. Yeah, that’s a band name in case you were wondering.

It’s been quite some time since I found this pearl but it deserves an entry nonetheless. If I had to describe the Chicago indie rock/jazz-fusion quintet’s sound in one word, it would be smooth.

The jangly guitars coupled with the laidback vibe just ooze pure nostalgia and genuine coziness.

Like that old sweater you used to wear in high school all the time.

Or reminiscing about some old memories from your high school days where you went with your friends to that lake and listened to yacht rock while having a juicy barbeque.

If you feel repulsed by my, admittedly, poor analogies yet enjoyed the song anyway, I’d recommend to you to also check out the band’s song Cranberry Telephone. It’s just as smooth in sound but features swift transitions between its sections and cranks up the tempo a bit, giving the track a funky feel at times.

Recommended for fans of Mac DeMarco, yacht rock, that one band from your time in high school

If you like what you just read, don’t forget to leave a comment or two and some claps! By doing that you don’t only support us here at KOTATSUN, but also the artists and bands we present to you every week!

--

--

Alejandro Gawlik Coste
KOTATSUN

German-Dominican music lover. Feel free to get in touch with me to talk about music. Outside of music, I also enjoy reading, going to the gym, and video games.