Renting an Oppa for $70 Not Bts

Shocked because of Korean culture

Drawkawaii
Kpop life BTS
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2020

--

Photo by Doil oh on Unsplash

I know that dating culture is common in Korea. But I was shocked about renting Oppa(older brother or male) and Unnie(older sister called by females).

Yes, it is possible. My friend from Seoul rented an Oppa for 70 dollars for a tour. It’s only for 2.5 hours, and she found him on a website called “Oh My Oppa”. And it is a kind of tour service.

I have not found such a website in my country. And it is weird for me to hear renting someone for a few hours. But it seems a little funny to hear.

In some case, Oppa does not mean brother it may even mean, boyfriend or friend who is an older male.

She said it was not a dating service and just hanging out.

But These Oppa’s Has Rules to Be Followed to Become an Oppa

No drinking, shouldn’t exchange number with customers and even no touching.

I felt like it’s good compared to dating apps when she said these things.

Even there is “Oh My Unnie”. And it can be used only by females.

It is cool when your parents are busy and when your friends are dating someone. These Oppa and Unnie give a company. They offer this service to foreigners who visit Seoul.

It is a kind of tour service but a different one.

Even it’s weird to rent an Oppa or Unnie I like this kind of service. But spending $70 — $80 for 2.5 hours makes we feel.

When I was a kid, my parents never allowed me playing with strangers. But nowadays, people started to hang out with strangers.

“You can also have coffee with your Oppa”. What are you kidding me?

Yes, you can have coffee and even a tandem bike ride.

Everyone needs Oppa only because of two main reasons. The person around me talked a lot about the Korean lifestyle because of K-drama and K-pop.

What I feel is, it is better to have a company. To help you to visit places instead of travelling alone. But is it safe to travel with strangers?

But my friend said she felt comfortable with her Oppa who guided him and treated him well. And he didn’t misbehave to him.

And it is impossible to rent BTS members, and you can’t imagine it even in your dream. Lol!!!

I have not rented any Oppa, but if I have a chance to visit South Korea, I may rent an Oppa so that I can have an experience and the best tour service. But it also makes me worry that because of the lack of love with our nearby person, we started to search for someone and even spend money on someone’s time to share our feelings.

--

--