Playlist Bi-Kali

KrantiKālī
Feminists In The South
3 min readSep 21, 2017

Rhea Dangwal

THIS JUST IN: The B in LGBTQIA+ stands for Bisexuality but NOW also for Badass Bops!

Here at KrantiKali we have assembled the perfect playlist to tune out all the phobia and hate to and live out your best life Bisexual and Proud!

Girls/Girls/Boys by Panic! At The Disco

When this song dropped I remember holding on to my best friend in my hostel room and SCREAMING. Not only is the song an absolute BOP to dance to, Brenden Urie is one of the most attractive bisexual men to ever grace us with his art. This Panic! At the Disco song literally jumps to the top as a bisexual anthem with the lyrics

“But girls love girls and boys
And love is not a choice”.

Bad at Love by Halsey

Halsey is another out and proud bisexual queen who embraces her sexuality through her music with such flawlessness. This song is a slow and groovy tale of being bad at love with “a boy back home in Michigan” and then “with a girl with California eyes”.

Cool for the Summer by Demi Lovato

This dance number is sure to make you want to let out your curious side along with Demi as she does the same.

Girls Like Girls by Hayley Kiyoko

Literally one of the easiest songs to get obsessed with, Hayley’s Girls like Girls is like a ‘Duh! We like who we like’ to anyone who still seems confused. Need a little confidence boost before asking someone out? This song is on it’s way to become a classic.

I Kissed a Girl by Katy Perry

Talking about classics, if we don’t address this song and how Katy Perry literally shaped a generation of out and about queer bisexual kids then this playlist is a sham and my taxes are going to waste.

Michael by Franz Ferdinand

A step away from pop music, ‘Michael’ is a violently danceable song about the singer wanting to dance with a sexy boy named Michael and as proclaimed by tumblr gods, successfully makes anyone who listens to it attracted to aforementioned ‘Michael’, hands down!

Heaven by Troye Sivan feat. Betty Who

Sivan had tweeted that this song is the most important song he ever made. The video features footage from LGBTQ+ protests that have shaped history. The song addresses being scared to come out, questions bigotry in religion, questions the notion of heterosexuality being the only ‘accepted’ way to live and love with lyrics like;

“Without losing a piece of me
How do I get to heaven?
Without changing a part of me
How do I get to heaven?
All my time is wasted
Feeling like my heart’s mistaken, oh
So if I’m losing a piece of me
Maybe I don’t want heaven?”

Desire by Years & Years feat. Tove Lo

This bi-bop can be summed up in its lyrics-

“Open your arms and pray
To the truth that you’re denying
Give in to the game
To the sense that you’ve been hiding
Where are you taking me?
I can’t be blamed
I want you to want me again
Is it desire
Or is it love that I’m feeling for you?
I want desire
’Cause your love only gets me abused”

Pair this with a catchy beat and you got yourself a peppy rhythm to wrap this playlist up!

Honorary mention

The Greatest by Sia feat. Kendrick Lamar

Sia’s artistic tribute to the shooting at a gay bar in Orlando is a song that resonates with the entire queer community with its heartwarming lyrics and visuals. It is a moving song about not giving up and reminding yourself that no matter who you choose to be, who you choose to love or not, you are capable of being the GREATEST version of YOU there possibly could ever be.

Rhea Dangwal

About our writer: Rhea Dangwal is a Desi feminist and writer at large, annihilating misogyny and chicken nuggets with equal vengeance. DM her a high five here: @rheadangs

--

--

KrantiKālī
Feminists In The South

International grant winning multi-platform feminist organisation working towards UN SDGs 5, 11 and 16: Gender Equality & Peacebuilding through Technnovation.