UNTITLED.

KrantiKālī
Feminists In The South
2 min readDec 29, 2016

Supriya Kumar

Stop. Stop narrowing me down to my body,
My clothes, my appearance,
Look beyond, beyond the horizon,
See me for my thoughts,
My wildest dreams and passions.

Tell me I can do anything,
Yes, I believe I can. I stand
For strength, will, courage and dignity.
When you secretly strip me off,
My clothing in your mind,
Do you ever think of the woman
That gave birth to you?
That nourished you from her very own breast,
Who held you at her chest?

Image: Project Resest#YesAllWomen

No, you don’t. Instead, you strip yourself
Of all morals and values,
That humans ever stood for.

Confucius once said,
“A hundred women aren’t worth one male testicle.”
Tell me what worth is his knowledge,
When he lacks the simple truth
Of humility and justice.

When did we become objects for your use?
When did respect become
Alien to mankind?
I think it was the same day,
When we forgot what we stood for.
When equality became an empty word,
Devoid of meaning.

I believe a woman can do,
All that a man can. She does
Not need him to support her.
She needs him to realize, she is more
Than a fulfillment of his desire,
She is light, she is knowledge, she is fire.

Supriya Kumar

About our writer: “Feminist alert! Almost 18 and an aspiring writer and traveler.”
Read more of her work here:
http://theuncensoredfeminist.blogspot.in/

Disclaimer: The views expressed in this article are independent views solely of the author(s) expressed in their private capacity and do not in any way represent or reflect the views of KrantiKālī.

--

--

KrantiKālī
Feminists In The South

International grant winning multi-platform feminist organisation working towards UN SDGs 5, 11 and 16: Gender Equality & Peacebuilding through Technnovation.