I Will Rebel

Kristi Fanning
krispibacon
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2019

Scrolling through the movies on Netflix I see some Romantic Comedies that are meant to stir up lustful desires. I will rebel. People tell me I would be a great wife and mother and that may be true, but I will not become unsatisfied. I will rebel. I am 26 and without keeping busy I dwell on the fact that I am single. Even though the world, society and even my own-self put pressures on me to satisfy this desire, I will rebel. I do this because I know that I will not be happy if I give in. I choose to rebel against the lustful advertisements on TV and be satisfied in God’s love instead. I choose to rebel against society’s lies and my own lies that I need a boyfriend to be fulfilled.

Does this mean I choose to never have a boyfriend and get married? No. It means that I will only settle for God’s best for me. I have seen other Christian couples who waited for the right relationship and how happy they are still today. I choose to fight every hormone and temptation in my body so I can live God’s way. God is the Creator of all things and knows what is best for us. I believe His Word, the Bible, when it says, “A man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife and the two will become one flesh (Mark 10:7–8).” Marriage is to be taken seriously and I will marry someone who believes it should be done God’s way. “However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband (Ephesians 5:33).” This is the picture of marriage I want.

I believe that the LORD will not withhold His best from me. With every struggle along the way, I will trust that God is making me stronger in Him. I will remember His goodness, His kindness and His salvation. I will sing of God’s love toward me, so I will never forget it is Him who satisfies. Against everything else, I will rebel.

--

--

Kristi Fanning
krispibacon

I'm the one whose dominant and recessive genes are red. Less than 2% of the human population has fiery, red hair. You'll see a fiery passion in my writing too!