Mallery Avidon

Kristiania (editor)
Kristiania
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2017

Mallery Avidon is a playwright interested in the intersection of fact and fiction. Her plays include queerSpawn, breaks & bikes, The Past is Not a Foreign Country (very personal) maps of Seattle and Mary-Kate Olsen is in Love. She holds an MFA in Playwriting from Brown University.

Statement:

I’ve moved on. I’ve moved and I’ve moved on.
To Art School. And past Art School to Life.

This is my life.
I live here in this place where it rains all the time.
But not the way you think.

Art School was. Art School was a waste of money and now I work graveyard cooking eggs for drunk Hipsters and Douchebags and I write grants for projects no one wants to give me money for because I can’t demonstrate their impact. I haven’t made good enough surveys to give to my degenerate friends who come drink the free booze at my openings.

How did you hear about this?
​Friend
​Paper
​Internet
​Review
​Your Face

How often do you attend artistic events of any kind?
​Only Today
​My life is an Artistic Event
​Never I’m Not Here. Fuck You.

Will this installation make you spend and/or make more money?
How is this art serving the corporate/capitalist/consumer infrastructure of this city?
Who are you for?
Why are you here?
What are you worth?

This is my new project:
(cuz I can do it at work)

It’s a way to measure rain.
I put pans of flour outside on the planters at work when it’s raining. With um this chemical, that’s fine to ingest, that turns the flour blue anywhere the rain hits it. The water makes little blue flour balls and then I bake each pan into a loaf.

It’s Rain Bread.
Seattle. Rain. Bread.

I bake it at work and then I sell it to the hipsters and douchebags.
I take a picture of each person with their loaf.
That’s what the show will be: The photos.

Also I’ve been cutting up the extra loaves and shellacking them.
So Shellacked Rain Bread and Photos.

The show opens tomorrow. I’ve already sold all the pieces.

I priced them to move. I have to make rent by saturday.

I’m tapping into the fucking Zeitgeist or whatever.
Artisanal Bullshit. Check.
Vague environmental under and/or over tones. Check.
iPhone pics of Hipsters and Food. Check.

I don’t even think I’m making art anymore.
But I can eat dinner tonight and put off eviction for another month.

--

--