Combining Grassroots Ministry and Business

Sister, Sister: Evey Sekajipo with Mama Africana and MA Designs

Kristine Diaz Coffman
Let’s get Vulnerable

--

Sister, Sister (Tia and Tamera Mowry from Disney channel anyone?!) is a space dedicated to celebrating the stories and strength of courageous women. I desire to empower those who embrace who they are, are confident in their giftings, and just go after their dreams! I hope this will stir up creativity and inspire you and I to learn from one another.

Didn’t I warn you about that smile? #thatsmyfriend

What can I say about Evelyn (Evey) Sekajipo? Besides the fact that her million dollar smile is the best you will ever see, and that her laughter seems to spread like wildfire everywhere she goes — she is also one of the strongest women I know.

As a personal friend and mentor of mine, I have watched her lead fearlessly within both the world and the church, fighting for the voice of black women to be heard. She relentlessly advocates for them to know their value and worth, and provides them with opportunities they rightfully deserve.

Since 2005, Evey has been leading a ministry called Mama Africana, a Christian mentoring program set up to reach black middle and high school girls in the Tampa Bay area. Their vital mission has always been—and will always be—to empower black girls in their ethnic identity and their relationship with Jesus. In a world where black women are discriminated against, Mama Africana creates opportunities for them to learn how to love their minds and bodies as God created them.

What got you into ministry?

“Growing up in the city of Boston as a black girl had its challenges. I got bullied often, so my self-esteem was severely low. To add to the stress, my parents were separated, I lived in poor environments, and many times we lacked the resources to get basic necessities. I was in dire need of a mentor to encourage me and pray for me. As I grew older, I recognized the felt need for girls with a similar upbringing to mine to have positive role models directing them in the path resiliency. For the past 14 years, it has been my honor and duty to seek the peace and prosperity of the black girls in Tampa. Many of these girls share my story: I want to provide for them the mentor that didn’t exist in my story. It’s a joy to come alongside the heart of God in this way.”

“Many of these girls share my story: I want to provide for them the mentor that didn’t exist in my story.”

What is MA and how does empowering black girls play a role in racial reconciliation?

“Mama Africana is a Christian mentoring program designed to empower Black girls in their ethnic identity and relationship with Jesus. This is done through one-on-one and group mentoring, academic advocacy, leadership development, and now, through MA Designs, entrepreneurial opportunities. The beautiful thing about MA is that it is led by black women. In a society where black girls are often singled out or disregarded, we atMA provide space where they are seen and heard, to be themselves. With black girls being mentored by godly black women, we provide an avenue for them to interact with role models that look like them. MA mentors are teachers, social workers, counselors, architects, engineers, graduate students, undergraduate students, and stay-at-home mothers. In MA, the beauty, potential and uniqueness of black girls are not only celebrated regularly but reinforced by the presence of these role models. We pull black girls away from our diverse society for a moment to reassure them, that their voice and presence is vital in bringing about change in this broken world.”

How did you get into creating jewelry for MA?

“I like to call myself an artist. I love music (I used to play guitar and piano and I’ve written several songs), I love to draw with charcoal, and I enjoy graphic design…though my first love is spoken word poetry. Since art is an expression of how I feel on the inside, I do that daily with fashion. Creating jewelry is the icing, the cherry, the acquired ingredient to the final touch that is me. In MA, I always want our girls to find the medium in which they wish to express themselves: for the girls we hire at MA Designs, we hope for them to bring all of that expression as they develop an understanding of what it means to manage a business.”

‘Radiant Red’ earrings by MA Designs

Tell us something scary about starting MA and something rewarding that has come from it?

“I am a dreamer…but my dreams are so tiny compared to God’s plans. I wanted MA to expand to the neighboring cities and states, but instead God created sister MA’s in Haiti, Kenya, and Canada. I just wasn’t ready for all of that. It both terrifies and comforts me to know that the plans Jesus has for Mama Africana are NOT in my hands; God is clearly in complete control. I’ll just say ‘Yes!’, when he says ‘Go’, I may roll my eyes for like two seconds, until I realize, it ain’t about me, but about what Jesus wants to do in, with, and through black girls.”

What advice do you have for people pursuing ministry and taking risk?

“God is strong enough to handle your fears, questions, anxiety, concerns, and doubts — cast them onto him, know he thoroughly knows you and cares for you beyond your imagination. When he says ‘Go’, just say, ‘Yes.’”

I love that Mama Africana exists to serve young black girls and teach them to embrace their ethnic identity. As a Latina who grew up in a predominantly white environment, I wish I had a group of Dominican and/or Latina sisters that would have told me that I didn’t have to straighten my curly hair to be beautiful, and that brown eyes are just as valuable as blue ones. I believe Mama Africana is a beautiful example of what it means for the older generation to come alongside others, both as family and to help raise the children of tomorrow. We all know it takes a village to raise one child, and I’m thankful that there is an army of black women equipping their little sisters to embrace the unique and powerful call of God on their lives.

Want to learn more?

Check out their website or better yet, watch their documentary to learn more about their heart and vision.

Also, make sure to check out a previous blog where I showcased some of their new jewelry!

--

--

Kristine Diaz Coffman
Let’s get Vulnerable

A 30 year old, trying to stay curious and open about her faith, while deconstructing, reconstructing, and processing through her childhood trauma.