How a Calligraphy Guru Learned to Embrace Creativity

Sister, Sister: Fina Sanders of Love Offering

Kristine Diaz Coffman
Let’s get Vulnerable

--

Sister, Sister (Tia and Tamera Mowry from Disney channel anyone?!) is a space dedicated to celebrating the stories and strength of courageous women. I desire to empower those who embrace who they are, are confident in their giftings, and just go after their dreams! I hope this will stir up creativity and inspire you and I to learn from one another.

Being Dominicana, it felt fitting to have my first ‘Sister, Sister blog featuring my creative friend Josefina Sanders, also known as Fina. Fina is based out of Tampa, Florida and has her own calligraphy business called ‘Love Offering’. While she sells some of her stunning banners, cards, and takes custom orders on Etsy, she is also known for the epic calligraphy workshops she puts on.

Fina carries a unique confidence everywhere she goes, and her passion for calligraphy and writing is addictive. I’m pretty sure her bag is hilariously always filled with a minimum of 100 different writing pens at once — I honestly didn’t even know there were so many options for pens before meeting her! The first thing you may notice about Fina is her stunning curls equally matched by the sweetest of smiles, but it doesn’t take long to realize she is just as stunning on the inside as out.

One of my favorite things about Love Offering is the heart behind what she does. Fina is one of the leaders of a creative community called Rising Tide Society that values community over competition, and it’s clear she embodies that. In most of her workshops, Fina finds a tangible way of serving and giving back to the community. Whether it’s by having attendees write letters to those struggling with addiction, or through creating art for those who are hurting, she always finds a way to tangibly love others.

Don’t you love that?

She is a living example of someone who uses their gift in a creative way to bring joy and life to others.

I had the chance to ask her a few questions regarding her passion for calligraphy. If you’ve ever considered trying out lettering or just pursuing your creative outlet for a living, I hope this interview inspires you

Q1 : What got you into calligraphy?

I began doing calligraphy about four years ago. My husband and I at the time were engaged and planning a destination wedding. Since we were “ballin’ on a budget” I decided to make my own invitations.

Q2: Why do you think calligraphy has made such a strong comeback in the past few years? What makes it so special?

I think that lettering adds such a personal touch to anything. I can shoot you a cute text and emoji smile, but when it’s something handwritten that you can actually keep, it shows effort and love.

Q3: What advice do you have for people who are trying to learn calligraphy?

Don’t stress on creating something perfect. Perfection doesn’t exist. Keep creating consistently and you will learn how to make your letters dance.

Q4: How did the name ‘Love Offering’ come ?

Love Offering is a very common term in the church. When you give someone a love offering, it’s like a surprise blessing. It’s not just giving someone anything, but something sweet with sentimental value. My desire is to be able to offer just that within each of my pieces.

Q5: Tell us something that’s been scary about pursuing Love Offering, and something rewarding that has come from it?

In June of 2016 I was compelled to start teaching classes. I was nervous, not just because of the class but because of the great financial investment that comes with it. I’m 10 classes in, and I have never felt more encouraged!

Q6: What advice do you have for people pursuing something creative?

JUMP! It’s scary when we look at the vision from afar, and so easy to be paralyzed by that fear. But you will never know until you try. Give yourself the chance to soar.

I love the answer to that last question for those of us who have a creative passion but are afraid to go after it. Just jump. Funny enough, those were Fina’s exact words to me as I contemplated starting up this blog. It felt timely, and was exactly what I needed to hear. The same thing goes for all of us who feel to insiginificant to try. Just jump, go for it! Push past that lame box you’ve put yourself in (or perhaps others have put you in), push past your fears and uncertainties, and just try! Whatever your creative outlet is, whether its just a hobby or a way you’re trying to make an income — you never know until you try.

You’re worth the risk. Stop letting fear paralyze you and give yourself a chance!

Okay, I will stop preaching at you now! Hope you feel inspired and a little more ready to take that leap of faith and pursue the thing that makes you come alive.

How great is Love Offering and Fina’s words of wisdom? If you want to learn more about Love Offering and how to take a workshop, click here to check out her Etsy Page.

--

--

Kristine Diaz Coffman
Let’s get Vulnerable

A 30 year old, trying to stay curious and open about her faith, while deconstructing, reconstructing, and processing through her childhood trauma.