Looking back at my High School Years

Christine Kenanda
kristynotes
Published in
4 min readApr 6, 2018

Finishing up on my college education has made me reflect on my high school years. Just like my college years, the high school years fly by. High school was not my favourite. If you went to the primary school I went to you will see why. I’m not complaining; I actually choose which high school I should go to. Whether it is by the marks I scored at primary level or by selection of schools.

I was admitted to a high school that found its premises in a semi-desert. On the contradictory, the school compound had quite a number of green trees and acacia trees of course. The school principal was tougher but the deputy was even tougher. She was made of steel, spice and motherly care. I was open to trying out new stuff in high school. It is high school! You know, one step higher. But also, I had a couple of ideas of what I can do.

Kristy notes musings

Reflections on My High School Life

Confidence

I was not a student who exuded confidence externally. To make it worse puberty was showing up-and off. I had pimples on my face and marks were forming more in places I never thought they would. On that, I mostly kept to my self. This lack of confidence affected so much my performance at extra-curriculum activities. I wanted so badly to participate in public speaking but I never signed up out of fear. Fear that people would laugh at me if I said something wrong or naive. Fear that I would fail. So I never did. Well, not until the talent show where I forgot my words on stage and stared out of the window. I gave my hand in sports. With the little training and lots of determination, I went to two competitions. I was too shy and anxious. I really did not end up performing well. Lawn tennis requires mindpower as much it does physical strength. If I was to go back to those years, I would tell myself that it does not matter what others think. We were all learning and your zeal was twice as much as anyone. I have since learnt to let go of such mindsets and go for what I want to achieve. It is worth it going for what you aim for.

Appreciation

This sounds like a big word for a high schooler but I learnt big on this. The national school selection process meant that all students all over the country could be taken to study anywhere else in the country. I got to meet a lot of students from all over the country in my small school. It was an interesting mix to interact with them. Since the school was in Kajiado, I learnt a bit about the Maasai culture. I got to see and appreciate other cultures in high school. I realized Kenya is much bigger than those in my hometown.

Planting trees was part of the school culture. In fact, when the school was started, the first students were assigned a tree each. They were to water the tree and groom it. It paid off. More than 15 years later, the trees are still there. We even had duties during the dry season to water the trees. Being in a semi-desert, we mostly depended on borehole water. If the pump broke down or the water level subsided, then it will be a hustle for water. There was no room for water wastage especially if you were on toilet duty. I learnt that every drop of water counts and trees are our refuge. The tree shade came in handy during lunch walks to the hall and back. I’m glad to say as part of the initiative of Girl Learn International (GLI)- a club I was a member of- the school now has a couple of water tanks that are most helpful in the dry season.

Focus

You could easily get distracted by anything in high school. Peer pressure was at work yet you are still learning about yourself as an individual. Thankfully, our teachers always reminded us to keep our heads in the books and reminded on God.

How were high school years for you?Let me know in the comment section below.

Originally published at Kristy notes.

--

--