Staycation in Naivasha: Imani Cottages

Christine Kenanda
kristynotes
Published in
3 min readOct 2, 2018

The chiming of bells around the goat’s neck or perhaps the turning of the wheels of the train passing through the vintage rail track or even the crush of wind against the timber frames. One of this is sure to get you up in the morning if you are a light sleeper as I am. But rather than waking up I continued to enjoy the comfort of the sheets. I was making my peace at Imani cottages. I was not in any hurry to hasten my journey back to the capital city.

It had been a fine day and night well spent at Imani cottages. I love the rustic feel of vacation homes and I still couldn’t believe I was there. I came across Imani cottages a few months before the trip on Booking.com. I was surfing the net for vacation homes in Naivasha. A cute and affordable vacation home was my choice. The moment I laid eyes on it, I knew this was the ‘it’. Maybe it is the timber made homes that reminded me of my maternal home or the flowers and bushes that aroused the jungle-loving side of me; I loved it.

Days before the trip, we made our booking and then stocked on shopping. Imani Cottages is a self-catering countryside vacation home. It located along the Mai-Mahiu — Naivasha highway. There is a cottage for all depending on the relation and size of the travel company.

The cottage we got booked in is a two bedroomed country home. It has a small kitchen area in the lounge area, a big bathroom and a tidy toilet. The house can comfortably fit 5 people. At night, we were kept company by the outside bonfire while chatting with the charismatic caretaker. Even the dogs loved us but Rahab loved them more. But who doesn’t love friendly visitors?

As we packed our belongings and left for the city, I knew this place will always have a special belonging in my heart. Having my close friends here for the Naivasha road trip made it extra special.

Make your booking on https://facebook.com/imanicottages

Imani cottages
Imani cottages
Imani cottages

Board Games & Novels

Imani cottages

The washroom

Imani cottages
Imani cottages

a little friend

Imani cottages

At home for the trip

Originally published at Kristy notes.

--

--