Must Do’s in Los Angeles

Gillian Delgaty
Krugo
Published in
4 min readJun 30, 2020

Submitted by: Kirstin Haverstock

  1. SQIRL

Location: The edge of Silverlake

If you take one piece of advice from this list, please, for the love of god, make Sqirl your number one destination. Sqirl has killer coffee, incredible ricotta and homemade jam brioche toast, and a sorrel rice bowl with a perfectly poached egg, feta cheese, preserved lemon and DILL. Truly the best thing I have ever eaten. And your girl eats a lot.

SQIRL

2. Night + Market Song

Location: West Hollywood and Silverlake

Night + Market is a great atmosphere to share family-style Thai street food with your travel buddies. The service is bomb and the food is phenomenal. The décor is vibrant and the music is ratchet. It’s pretty much perfect. Make sure you get the garlic green beans, spicy eggplant and the pad see ew.

Night + Market Song

3. Republique

Location: West Hollywood

I have so much to say about Republique. It’s open as a café and bakery during the day and then reopens for dinner. I’ve lost count of how many times we have eaten here and how many times I have ordered the Smoked Salmon Tartine. Smoked salmon, dill, chives and preserved lemon. Hello.

Republique

4. Sonoratown

Location: Downtown LA

Welcome to the best tacos in Los Angeles. Located in DTLA, which has become the epicenter of the food scene in LA, Sonoratown has the best Mexican food I’ve had here! Burritos, tacos, quesadillas and so much more. It’s also very inexpensive for the quality of authentic Mexican cuisine you get.

Sonoratown

5. Felix

Location: Venice

Hi. Do you like focaccia? Because that’s how you get to start your meal. With fresh, fluffy, homemade focaccia. Felix is located on Abbot Kinney Boulevard which is home to so many great restaurants, bars and shops. The pasta comes in many different sizes so if you’re a hungry gal, much like myself, you can order two small ones and satisfy several different taste pallets. May I suggest the Pesto Genovese as well as the Ragu Bolognese? It’s also stumbling distance to Salt N Straw so save room for ice cream!

Felix

6. Roberta’s

Location: Culver City

I was introduced to Roberta’s last summer by a friend who had previously lived in New York and was thrilled Roberta’s landed in Los Angeles. Roberta’s has a cheeseboard that has marveled any cheeseboard I’ve had before. I live for cheese. They also have amazing pizzas and even better add ons for pizza toppings. Great cocktails too!

Roberta’s

7. Here’s Looking at You

Location: Koreatown

Best brunch in LA. Hands down. I haven’t experienced dinner but the brunch was something I quite frankly don’t think I’ll experience again anywhere else. I wasn’t okay after I ate the coconut waffle. It was to die for. That’s all I have to say about that.

Here’s Looking at You — Coconut Waffle

8. Mariscos Jalisco

Location: Mostly in East LA

I have completely neglected the LA food truck scene which I apologize for. Mexican food truck perfection specializing in seafood. I love it here. The deep-fried shrimp taco (Taco De Camaron) is actually perfect.

9. Joy

Location: Highland Park

The owner of this restaurant also operates another great spot called Pine and Crane in a similar neighborhood. Joy has an ever-changing wine and craft beer list and specializes in Taiwanese food. If you enjoying venturing outside of your comfort zone and texture doesn’t freak you out, try the forbidden rice pudding.

Joy

10. Ramen Hood

Location: Downtown Los Angeles

Just for you, vegans. Ramen Hood is 100% vegan and located in Grand Central Market. They serve a few different varieties of Ramen including a spicy version that includes a spicy paste and chili threads to increase the heat. The absolute best thing that Ramen Hood has on their menu is the Banh Mi Poutine which is made with hoisin gravy. I’ll just leave that here.

Ramen Hood

--

--