Kyros Update #5

Blood Money

Carter M
KMON
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2022

--

It hurts goddamnnit, it hurts.

I googled it you know? “The worst things that can happen in life”. There were plenty of opinions, various different forums or articles ranking betrayal, murder, racism… It was a long list.

But the worst thing in the world, agreed unanimously between all these different forums was Death. The death of a loved one ranked #1 as the most painful feeling in the world, and I think today we all felt that.

The funeral was a small one, just a few of Koa’s closest friends and some of the guys from the lab. That made it hurt all the more, knowing that it would have been a much larger event if it wasn’t for me and that slimeball Elias Pound. I feel dirty just thinking about the whole thing, the insincerity behind the pretend concern and remorse when he came to me with a deal.

In exchange for keeping Keystone’s involvement in Koa’s death quiet, Elias would provide a disgustingly astronomical sum of money. More than enough to keep the lab and everyone in it afloat for years to come… More than enough for us to continue Koa’s dream of understanding our new Kryptomon friends.

As much as I wanted to throw the little weasel out of the office, especially since it was the office of the man he just played a part in killing , Elias knew I wouldn’t reject it. This wasn’t about my feelings, but rather what Koa would have wanted.

Koa never cared for the glory or the fame of being “The Father of Kryptomon”, he never wanted the interviews or being on magazine covers. He was perfectly happy being left alone in the lab, and with Charles’s big reveal at the arena, Koa wouldn’t have rested until he made it to that other world.

Dirty Money

So I took the money. Eva would kill me if she knew but I’ll be damned if I let the lab and Koa’s legacy die. After the portal that Charles disappeared into was proven to be un-useable, rumors are already swirling online that Keystone are working on their own version of one. God help us all if Keystone figures it out first and monopolizes entry into the new world.

I… We’re not going to let that happen. I could see it in the eyes of every person in the lab that they were thinking the same thing. Even if we have to burn the midnight oil, Keystone won’t be allowed to have their way.

Things at the lab won’t be the same without you Koa, but don’t count us out just yet. The world will have a portal to this new world free from Keystone control, this I swear.

--

--

Carter M
KMON
Editor for

Freelance writer, member of the Kryptomon team, writer for The Cronicle and top writer on Medium in Finance