It’s Phase-III

Kilari Teja
@ksdme, coala and gsoc
2 min readAug 14, 2018

13 July 2018–30 July 2018

So, Yes, I did pass the Phase-II. This is when I should thank my mentor (高策) and the community. Thank You! The last phase was all about getting the client up and running and publishing it to the VS Code Marketplace. We did it. Now, VS Code can fix all your issues right from your editor window and you can almost one click install the client from the store. This phase is all about optimizing coala and coala-vs-code. I now have a almost agreed upon cEP! Anyway here are some developments from the past two weeks.

  1. cEP: coala uses something called cEP as a proposal mechanism to propose changes to the coala core. This is so the community can know about and vote on major changes. Typically cEPs are required during feature updates and architectural changes. Optimizing coala for coala-ls requires at least one feature extension and one architectural change. I intend to introduce a feature known as tagging, so you can conditionally execute a collection of sections based on the invoking tags. The aforementioned change to the architecture has to do with supporting coala execution on in-memory versions of a file rather than their disk counterparts.
    This cEP has been stuck in review for a month now, I have requested for initial approval so I can start working on the implementation, thanks to @shreyans800755 I have approval on implementation model of the tagging feature upgrade and thanks to @jayvdb I have initial approval on the cEP and can now start working on the implementation. Follow the cEP developments here
  2. Prototypes: Improving the cEP involved writing at least prototype implementations of the proposed changes. I have thus implemented a prototype of the proposed tagging feature and it functions well enough, prototype implementation of FileProxy support was also found to be functional enough.

PyDelhi and coala although not strictly related to this blog, I did represent coala at this months meetup of PyDelhi, I helped some newcomers get onboard, some Atleast ~10 newcomer PR’s were submitted and some even got merged.

In all, the past two weeks have been mostly about working on the cEP and getting it into an acceptable shape so I can start implementing the proposal.

(Originally posted on 14–07–2018)

--

--

Kilari Teja
@ksdme, coala and gsoc

Full Stack Software Developer @ ViperDEV, Django + DRF, Angular, React and Flutter.