Second Phase, Yay!.

Kilari Teja
@ksdme, coala and gsoc
2 min readJul 10, 2018

12 June 2018–27 June 2018

So, I passed the first phase. I would like to take a moment to thank my mentors especially @gaocegege and the org admin @jayvdb. All the mentors and fellow students who helped me build my language server, thank you! I am gald that I have passed phase one. It is now time to improve the language server to support yet some more request types on the server and polish the VS Code plugin. This blog post accounts for the past two weeks. Now that I am finally done with my exams and the vacations have started I travelled back to my home and started working on the tasks for Phase 2. As mentioned above Phase 2 involves improving the server and working on the client. I picked working on expanding the server request type support to begin with. Our prime goal was to support textDoument/formatting and a few others. formatting is intended to fix the issues related to spacing and indentation in the code but initially coala ls will fixing all the code irrespective of the type of the patch. This can get tricky at times when the diffs are overlapping. I am confident that some additional changes introduced during Phase 3 will solve those issues and make formatting a feature to be used regularly.

Developments

The past two weeks mainly involved researching about the formatting and completing some back logs. Anyway, here are a few developments.

  1. Refactoring: The coalals.results module was refactored to make it make into a sub module, now with coalals.results.diagnostics.
  2. Support code fixes: Added coalals.results.fixes, now the diffs generated by the coala core can be parsed into coalaPatch objects.
  3. Misc Changes: Some additional changes have been introduced wherever required to support the new formatting request type.
  4. Supports textDocument/formatting: coala language server now supports formatting requests. Initially this does not fix all the issues but skips any overlapping changes. Here is a sneak peak: ()[https://youtu.be/uOnFQqe0IjU]
  5. Adds Tests: The coverage of the tests has been bumped to 100%. All the newly added code is covered by the tests too.
  6. Docs: As usual, all the code has been properly documented.

We now have a working implementation of code fixing in the editor itself using coala and the formatting requests. My mentor and I have decided on how to implement and work with the VS Code plugin.

Originally published on 28 June 2018 at https://ksdme.github.io.

--

--

Kilari Teja
@ksdme, coala and gsoc

Full Stack Software Developer @ ViperDEV, Django + DRF, Angular, React and Flutter.