walk on the other side of the street

katie zhu
kt zine
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2016

It’s amazing how I can walk by a place every single day but still miss so much. Still not truly perceive what I see.

I walk down 16th Street to the BART station every day for work. I pass this bagel shop called Katz, and every day I look inside, battling my constant craving for a warm toasted bagel with a thick layer of cream cheese. And I always walk on the same side of the street as the bagel shop.

But today! Today, I walked on the other side of 16th Street because I woke up early enough to realize my morning dream of doing some thinking and writing in a coffee shop before my day starts.

So I walk down the other side of 16th, and I look over at Katz. On the top of the storefront is a GIANT FUCKING BAGEL WITH WINGS. A larger than life flying bagel. Sesame, I think.

And this blew my mind because… I walk by this place every day. I’ve looked intently at that storefront every day for the last year and a half but never noticed it.

There’s so much that we have to tune out in order to stay sane or be able to just, you know, generally function. But it’s a nice reminder every now and then to take the time to actually see, look at your surroundings, the routine, boring shit you write off because it’s not novel or exciting anymore. Sometimes, it’ll surprise you. And today, I experienced the delight of discovering a flying bagel that brought a little something different to the start of my day.

Gonna try to keep mixing it up every now and then. Get a little crazy — walk on the other side of the street. Change my perspective. Who knows what I’ll see next?

--

--