Student athlete finds her home at KU after transferring

Student athlete and spring 2021 finance graduate Sara Nielsen reflects on her time at the KU School of Business.

KU School of Business
KU Business Class of 2021
3 min readMay 3, 2021

--

Spring 2021 finance graduate Sara Nielsen

Tell us how you ended up at the KU School of Business pursuing your major.

After going to school at the University of Minnesota for the first two years of my college career, I decided to transfer my junior year to play for a different volleyball program. On my visit to Kansas, I was blown away when I walked into Capitol Federal Hall. The monitor in the atrium said “Welcome Sara Nielsen,” and I could instantly see myself going to school here. After exploring several different business majors in my first two years of college, I knew I wanted to study finance, and after visiting Cap Fed, I knew I didn’t want to pursue my major at any other business school.

What programs or groups are you involved in at the School of Business and at KU?

I am a member of the Division I volleyball program at KU. For the past two years I have been fortunate to be the captain of an amazing team. While playing a Division I college sport has been a major time commitment of mine, I’ve had the privilege of working with an extremely supportive coaching staff, as well as excellent advisors who have been nothing but supportive throughout my experience.

What is one of your favorite memories from the School of Business?

My favorite memories of the b-school aren’t big events or moments. My favorite memories are small interactions with my classmates who have turned into great friends over the years. Whether it be quick chats between classes, working on homework together, or grabbing lunch after class, the little moments have turned strangers into lifelong friends.

Has anyone at the b-school been especially influential during your time here? In what way?

When I think of my experience at the b-school, the first person who comes to my mind is Allie Nelson. Allie graduated with a finance degree in 2020, and I had the opportunity to play volleyball with her as well as go to school with her. When I first arrived at KU, Allie took me under her wing and showed me everything I needed to know about succeeding as a finance major, surviving tough volleyball workouts, and everything in between. She made the transition to a new school as seamless as it could be, and she also made school, volleyball, and life so much more enjoyable.

What are your plans for the future?

Fortunately for me, the coronavirus pandemic has given me an extra year of eligibility, and an extra year to play volleyball for the University of Kansas. During this time, I am going to pursue a master’s in digital content strategy through the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications. The program includes earning two certificates, one in data interpretation and communication, and one in social media strategy. I am excited to expand upon my finance background, as well as explore new competencies.

What’s the one piece of advice you received in the b-school that you’ll take with you everywhere?

The best piece of advice I have ever received in the b-school is to always look to connect with people whenever possible. In my first summer at KU, my Managerial Accounting instructor, Kelvie Crabb, spoke to us about the importance of connection and how you never know where a simple “Hi, how are you?” might take you.

--

--

KU School of Business
KU Business Class of 2021

Stories about the students, alumni, faculty and staff of the University of Kansas School of Business.