COVID-19 Diaries: April 1, 2020

Blue Ridge Mel ❤
kubernēsis in apokálupsis
1 min readApr 2, 2020
The redbud tree right outside our window.

Our redbud tree is in full bloom.

After finishing today’s mandatory computer work (stuff with imminent deadlines), I headed out to the garden to rake leaves and pull weeds.

My neighbor teased me from her front porch about the size of the Chinese food order we had delivered for dinner.

I’m now one of six social media moderators for the local mutual aid group. We video-chatted this evening to discuss the history and values of mutual aid in Charlottesville, and protocol for moderating the community mutual aid forum.

There was some discussion of how communities who have dealt with “disaster” are more prepared for the kind of mutual aid this moment demands — and how, for those of us in Charlottesville, our disaster was the summer of 2017 and the events following.

I’m grateful for my community. I’m really, really grateful.

The current New York Times banner headline, as of this writing, is: “Federal stockpile of emergency medical supplies is nearly empty.”

--

--

Blue Ridge Mel ❤
kubernēsis in apokálupsis

Generations of kin have loved these old hills, and so do I. I’m Filipina-American & pagan-adjacent, living in southern Appalachia.