Do we learn more through guided experiences?

gg
Kucheza Gaming
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2019

--

Growing up in Lagos, Nigeria, my fondest childhood memories are often related to shared experiences with family and friends. I remember playing draughts (checkers for the Americans) and ludo with my mum, shooting pool and playing table tennis with friends and family which often resulted in petty gambling — a story for another day), taking my passbook to school on Wednesdays eagerly awaiting the bank’s bus so I could deposit my 10 kobo.

Evenings spent playing board games with my mum required my A game, especially with draughts (yes draughts, not chess). You know what they say about Policemen and draughts. Anyway, playing with my mum meant I needed to think through the game moves ahead, scenario planning at speed, learning sometimes winning requires sacrificing a piece or 2 during the battle. It’s interesting how a simple game can teach timeless lessons and refine our ability to make decisions to achieve our desired outcomes.

I attended Command Primary School in Ikeja in the 80s, every Wednesday my mum would give me my passbook and a little money to deposit into my account through the “mobile” bank bus that came to school. Honestly, at the time I didn’t think much of it. I loved running out to get in line to make my deposit, get my passbook stamped etc and when I handed my mum back the passbook later, she would spend some time explaining what I’d done (saving), why it was important to put a little money away, we would discuss the balance sometimes and whatever little interest appeared. This experiential approach to learning has become quite fascinating to me because it is evident through my personal experiences that I learned and retained more cognitive and social skills through this approach.

--

--