First full-length eBook launch: 1k+ downloads, 500+ upvotes on Reddit

Mario Hayashi
Kuma Learn
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2021

Note, this post was originally published on Kuma Learn’s blog.

In the past week (10 May), I posted another couple of free Kuma Learn mini-eBooks as well as a full-length (paid) eBook on Reddit’s /r/LearnJapanese community. It didn’t get as much attention the first launch of mini-eBooks in January but it was great to see the concept being validated. Thank you for your support and contributions. 🙏 Here, I share some of my learnings and highlights of the launch.

The stats

All stats are aggregated and not visitor-specific.

Again, the support on Reddit was strong:

  • 500+ upvotes
  • Almost 100% upvoted
  • There were 1.7k+ downloads
  • 200+ visitors checked out www.kumalearn.com

These figures compare less well against January’s launch but I appreciate every download and upvote! Where the launch performed comparatively better was downloads on store.kumalearn.com.

By no means a huge launch but I’m very glad that this many people found it worthwhile. 🙏

What did we learn?

Last time, in January, there was lots of feedback and I was fixing the mini-eBooks I’d just launched in real-time. This time, the eBooks were more refined, perhaps with less need for small tweaks.

What I learned instead this time around is that “learning Japanese vocabulary with pictures” provides a strong foundation to build other things on top of. Learning Japanese doesn’t end with a picture dictionary. So, I will be exploring and creating alternate resources over the coming months.

Thank you

I hope you enjoyed this post. 😊

If you want to stay up to date with Kuma Learn and get updates when new learning resources become available, please feel free to sign up to the newsletter.

Please feel free to reach out to me at mario@kumalearn.com if you have any comments or feedback. You can follow Kuma Learn on Twitter, Instagram.

--

--

Mario Hayashi
Kuma Learn

Product engineer, No-Coder, contractor, tech leadership at startups, indie maker.