Healing Children is now available in paperback!

Kurt Newman, M.D.
Kurt Newman, MD
Published in
2 min readJul 17, 2018

What a year it’s been since Healing Children was released. The book has opened so many doors for Children’s National and to me personally as I advocate for sustained investment in children’s health care across the country. What I’ve seen and heard from former patients and families at my book talks reflects the message I convey in the hardcopy: children are inherently strong and resilient. And, it’s our job as adults to give them the tools they need to recover and thrive.

Starting today Healing Children is available in paperback, with a Spanish language version to soon follow. This bit of news is exciting as more families will get to understand what I’ve learned in my 30 years as a pediatric surgeon. We also recently learned that U.S. News & World Report has ranked us as one of the five best children’s hospitals in America (and still #1 for neonatology) — — it’s wonderful to see the work and expertise of all of the team members at Children’s National acknowledged and celebrated.

Healing Children is a true history of my experiences and lessons learned on the frontlines of pediatric medicine. For the year ahead, my goal is to continue helping parents take firmer control of their children’s health by posing the right questions to their pediatrician, planning ahead if an emergency arises and generally becoming an equal member of their child’s care team. My commitment continues to spread the priorities I mention in the book to those who control finances toward pediatric health care in our country. It’s been overlooked, or simply seen as an addendum to the debates we hear about on a local and national level with regard to investing in our health care system. I want to see children’s health put first.

The tenacity and courage of the patients I’ve worked with over the past 30 years provide me with the optimism that we can do better and more for the health of future generations.

Healing Children is available here. Proceeds go to the Pediatric Health Opportunity Fund, supporting research and innovation at Children’s National and other pediatric research centers.

--

--

Kurt Newman, M.D.
Kurt Newman, MD

Father, Author, Pediatric Surgeon, President & CEO of Children’s National Health System