KuzoClass Entrepreneurship Fellow – Stories: Sahil Sachdeva

Michael Davis
KuzoClass
Published in
3 min readFeb 4, 2020

Sahil Sachdeva

Age: 27

Profession: Software Engineer

Hometown: New Delhi, India

University: Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University + Ryerson University

Fun Fact: Student Ambassador at RBC

Sahil Sachdeva’s journey began in the capital city of India, New Delhi. He enrolled at Cambridge Secondary School (New Delhi), opting for the Science track with Computer Science as one of his primary subjects. During this time, he was introduced to the technical aspects of computers and fell in love with information technology. He also aspired to become a pilot, saying, “I was fascinated by auto-pilot; it seemed futuristic to me.”

Sahil’s curiosity for coding led him to matriculate at Guru Gobind Singh IP University, a prestigious institution based in New Delhi. “I wasn’t active in extra-curricular activities, but I travelled a lot during my university. I even embarked on a 45 day trip to Ladakh and enjoyed every minute,” Sahil explains. To complement his academics, Sahil interned at Accenture as a SAP consultant and started working full-time at Computer Science Technologies (now DXC Technologies) in India, followed by a year in the USA. Being in the US was a thought-provoking experience for Sahil, “I decided to settle down in North America. Owing to the start-up ambience, streaks of entrepreneurship started engulfing me, and I aspired to start my venture down the road.”

After a year in the US, he continued to follow his insatiable curiosity and pursue higher education at Centennial College in Ontario, Canada. There, Sahil became involved in the Student Leadership Conference as a Marketing Lead as well as an International Student Ambassador. For his first co-op, Sahil interned at the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) as a Technical Systems Analyst. His energy and genuine interest in the field led to a manager’s recommendation to RBC’s prestigious Amplify program. “I went through a round of interviews and was the only student to be selected from a non-target university. I was also one of the top performers of the cohort.” At RBC, he developed an algorithm for which he was awarded a patent. To top it off, he later accepted a full-time job at RBC.

When asked about his first encounter with entrepreneurship, Sahil says, “During my time at university, along with my friends I used to jot down business ideas on a notebook and I credit that habit for cultivating an entrepreneurial mindset in me.” Sahil regularly indulges in self-introspection and plans to indulge in reading books to improve his perspective.

Sahil also loves to write poetry on his dad’s typewriter. In his own words, “I am not very good at poetry, but I just love writing poetry, especially when I am overwhelmed.” His future goal is to continue with his job at RBC and climb up the hierarchy. Also, Sahil wants to have his own business in the future, which either compensates or complements his income. At this time, “I don’t see myself giving up on my full-time job, and start with my venture as I don’t have a high-risk appetite at the moment, but I am hopeful that things will change in the future.”

Interested in joining the KuzoClass Entrepreneurship Accelerator? Join the waitlist today at www.kuzoclass.com or email john@kuzoclass.com with your LinkedIn and a few sentences on why you’re passionate about entrepreneurship.

--

--