Coconut Oil

Izu
Kwacha
Published in
3 min readApr 4, 2021
Image Source: Freepik.com

The smell of coconut oil was the first thing that hit me when we met.

Your hands, sweaty. Your smile, enchanting.

Not everything that starts with a blank profile turns out to be love at first sight. At least so I thought.

I always wondered what it was about you that made me feel safe in the midst of the chaos that surrounded us- The mob, the placards, the chants and the bomb scare!

Was it the thrill of danger or the fact that you stood there with me through it all?

Was it your wit or the way you articulated yourself?

It might have been both. I have always been a sucker for brains and courage.

The smell of coconut oil was the first thing that hit me when we met.

Here I was nervous and super excited that I was meeting you.

Sugar cane fields surrounding us in that small space, our hearts and bodies intertwined.

You let go and trusted me with your being!

Your breath, short! The thrill, the potential of being caught!

In the passion of the moment, you let go! You are a sharpshooter, exclaimed I! Embracing you, our hearts pacing as a gazelle before slaughter, we calm down.

Could this be the start of something new?

It might have been. I was super excited to see where it would lead.

The smell of coconut oil was the first thing that hit me when we met.

Here we were, meeting your parents! Your mother cooking the best curry for me!

I must admit, I laughed without you knowing when she thought I was bourgeois and had to cook food only I liked.

I laughed at the times you got mad because she considered me her son and would text without

you even knowing.

I laughed at the ruse we put up as friends when your brother knew we were not anything but lovers!

The last time I visited, when you were not there, was so surreal. We talked about you and the vision I knew you would achieve one day. Your father, so welcoming! Your mother, still going the extra mile to make me feel at home.

The smell of coconut oil was the first thing that hit me when we met.

After so many months of not being together.

After so many fights, and the distance tearing us apart.

After the many endless weeks that I would be emotionally unavailable.

After the many happy moments of seeing us grow and excel in the path of uncertainty.

After the day you told me you wanted a way out.

After the day I told you it was fine and I would be moving on.

I must admit saying those words hurt but I have come to learn and accept that fate has its own twists and turns.

The smell of coconut oil was the first thing that hit me when we met.

I was confused when you came back! Knowing full well that the boat had sailed.

It was not because I had moved on but because you knew the terms of our departure. We were but a leaf cut from a branch withering way with no hope of resuscitation.

I loved what we have and developed post us departing from a place of being lovers.

I know your friends do not like me, but you secretly defy their disdain and still keep in contact with me. What a twisted fate! Right?

I am so happy that your boat has finally sailed. I hope you maintain its course. No pressure!

The smell of coconut oil was the first thing that hit me when we met.

--

--

Izu
Kwacha
Editor for

LGBT+ Human Rights Activist| Writer| Playwright| Performing Artist| M.Phil Candidate| Queer Hate Crimes Scholar| Mandela Rhodes Scholar| Criminal Justice & Law