Of Perceptions and Stereotypes: THE RAINBOW

Izu
Kwacha
Published in
4 min readDec 25, 2019
I can never put a price or condition on my love for you my little rainbow.

My Dear Son,

The other day you came to me distraught and confused about who you truly are. You thought of ending it all because that was the only plausible way out. I stopped you and told you I would tell you a story about the rainbow and today I wish that you would listen to these words. They are not meant to alleviate your confusion but rather to offer words that will help you see your reality as legit and worth celebrating.

There comes a time in a man’s life when you embrace yourself, look to the sky filled with dark clouds like it is about to rain and then boom! the sun shines and the rainbow is formed.

There comes a time when you start questioning yourself, is the rainbow a metaphor of your own existence or is it an emblem of your own resistance?

I have always wondered why the rainbow with seven beautiful colours is misinterpreted to suit the eyes of the perceiver. A thought, deep-rooted in the vain hope that people would see the beauty that is the rainbow.

I ask myself, is it because they lack foresight or because they are so comfortable in their lives, that anything that is flamboyant as a rainbow is a misplaced reality? A question whose answer, my mind knows would be met with opposition if it were to be given.

I drawback to the happiness that comes when the rainbow is formed, showing that it will not rain but alas! In the split of a moment it rains, cats and dogs, drenching one in echoes of guilt, resonating to the point that they drown in self-pity.

Stuck in limbo, I ask myself; are we drawn into believing more in the unseen, that we would rather not see the beauty of the rainbow as it is? Would we rather believe that just as it passes, its beauty is also a passing phase soon to be forgotten or beaten into conformity?

My heart haemorrhages at how everyone looks at the rainbow with such disgust, an ill face; a statement of condemnation. Yet I wonder why no one ever tries to reason and explain how the rainbow such a beautiful emblem of love is formed and hated too? Is it true that people are scared of what their minds cannot comprehend or things that they feel will disappear as the rainbow?

A thought comes to my mind. I wonder, is it because of the way they are brought up? They are taught to view life as a dichotomy made up of two colours, two opposites and that that which is the same cannot be beauty.

They are taught that black is black and its opposite is white; there can never be a spectrum in between. I wonder if they ever tried to pass white light through a glass prism. They would see that white light diverges into seven beautiful colours adding warmth to what could potentially be a mundane and dull sight.

I wish people could see the real reality that it goes beyond the two colours. The rainbow has got seven beautiful colours, that can transcend into one’s own soul; the epitome of tranquillity and bliss.

I wish that they could also see that seven colours can be mixed differently, each to represent one’s own existence. I have always loved how the colours Blue, Purple and Pink blend in together.

My own inner voice pushes back and calls me crazy for not seeing that people choose to be blind to the harsh realities. I mute it because I know how difficult it is for people to let go of the indoctrination that has arrived and become a safety net that there is only white and black. I mute my inner voice because I believe people should be able to appreciate that beyond what is white or black can be a rainbow different but equal in beauty.

My inner voice for a second is filled with sadness at the realization that people still believe that the rainbow and its beauty do not exist and if it does exist, it is an illusion, a passing phase, so foreign and brings unnecessary novelty.

My inner voice is broken because it knows that people fail to see. They fail to see that the same sun that makes them look at black as black and white as white, is the same sun, that makes the rainbow have seven beautiful colours that bring a warm radiance to life.

My Dear Son,

I only have one wish that just as the rainbow, you do not draw your perceptions of who you are based on the general narrative of people that you are too colourful, your love is unnatural, fake and foreign.

Just as the rainbow with seven beautiful colours, you were created colourful for a purpose and that you should embrace your inner beauty. Do not get lost in the false reality found in the dictation that you change to suit the white or black background. My heart bleeds at their ignorance of not knowing, that the rainbow is as special as white or black.

The greatest potential in you can only be actualized when you dictate your own terms and embrace who you truly are. Never feel that you are alone on this path, I will always be here to guide you and love you unconditionally.

I can never put a price or condition on my love for you my little rainbow.

--

--

Izu
Kwacha
Editor for

LGBT+ Human Rights Activist| Writer| Playwright| Performing Artist| M.Phil Candidate| Queer Hate Crimes Scholar| Mandela Rhodes Scholar| Criminal Justice & Law