Chit Chat with A Lady Techie, KBWomenintech Face of the month.

Adeola Olaleye
Kwarabuild Womenintech
3 min readFeb 24, 2020

Zainab Bolanle Abdullahi(KBWomeninTech Team) interviewed Hammed Nimotallahi Bolajoko (KBWomeninTech member), who started her career in tech fully through the exposure she got from the community. She was the winner of the code challenge at KBWomeninTech workshop in 2019. She is our face of the month of February 2020

Hammed Nimotallahi Bolajoko, KBwomenintech face of the month of Februar

Z: We’d like to know your name.

N: My name is Hammed Nimotallahi Bolajoko.

Z: What motivated you to start a career in tech?

N: I’ve always been a fan of Microsoft products, I started with their Windows 98. When I saw another PC with Windows XP, I was confused as a kid then. I tried to ask why my own Windows was 98. I started asking questions and I realized that technology is something that evolves with time. It seems interesting to me because I love to make change and help others in any little way I can. I believe technology is a great tool of our time and it can help make my dreams come true. I also got inspired by observing tech products.

Z: Wow. It’s very interesting that your curiosity sparked your interest in tech. Has your career in tech so far affected your personality?

N: Positively or negatively?

Z: Both or either. Whichever you’re comfortable sharing.

N: Actually, it has affected my personality positively. Being in tech has improved my way of thinking which has made me stand out among other people. That’s a part of my personality that I do admire.

Z: It’s a very admirable personality trait indeed. Alright moving on, tell us about your tech skills.

N: I have some knowledge about Front-end development using HTML, CSS & JavaScript. I dived into UI/UX design last year with the aim of being a better interface developer.

Z: Fascinating. What drove you to choose front end development and UI/UX design as opposed to other areas in tech?

N: I have a little background in graphic design, and it gives me the ability to be creative while solving problems. It was easy for me to choose a path that is closer to what I’ve been doing before.

Z: Okay I understand that. The familiarity you have with the field is helpful to you.

Like you had your first public speaking about tech recently?

N: Yes, Last month

Z: How does it feels and what motivates you?

N: I’m passionate about tech, and seeing ladies like Adeola Grace, Zainab Bolanle Abdullahi and others imparting others that way has always been a motivation, it was really a great time, and I’ve also learnt ways to improve through feedbacks, It was really a great experience, I’m really happy I gave it a try and I’m not stopping at one.

Hammed Nimotallahi Bolajoko dishing her first tech talk @ TechReach

Z: That’s awesome, can you tell us how the KwaraBuild Women in Tech Community has impacted you in regards to achieving your goals?

N: KBWT has impacted me immensely. With no background in coding before, they gave me the support I need to thrive in my career path. The exposure I gained from the community too cannot be overemphasized.

Z: We’re very glad to hear that and be assured that we will always support you.

Z: To wrap it up, Can you talk about any project(s) you’ve worked on that you’re proud of?

N: I participated in KBWT challenge for frontend development last year and I’m proud of the outcome. Also, I’m doing daily UI challenges and I’m so proud of the ones I’ve done.

Z: I remember that KBWT challenge very well, you really wowed us with your performance.

N: Thank you.

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to talk to us today. Your words will definitely inspire other young ladies like you to take that plunge into the tech industry.

N: You’re welcome.

Z: Enjoy the rest your day.

N: Thank you, you too.

For more interesting posts, join our online community on the following platforms:

· Twitter: @KBWomenintech

· Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kwarabuild/
. Website: https://kwarabuild.com

Complied and Edited by Hajarat Abiodun Alli

--

--

Adeola Olaleye
Kwarabuild Womenintech

I’m a software developer and a tech community Advocate, I’m committed to helping others, women in particular to design a roadmap for a successful tech career