2017 premieres: the yas! the yes! and the good god why

Kyle Moncelle
Kylevision
Published in
4 min readFeb 1, 2017

The first month of 2017 is nearly in the history books and my tv has been providing some desperately needed escapism from the nightmare that’s unfolding on the national, political stage. However, just because it’s (desperately) needed, doesn’t mean that it’s all good.

Here are my thoughts based on the trailers, premises and (in some cases) premieres of new shows debuting in 2017:

YAS! These are the FUCK YES interesting, compelling and worthy-of-your-time shows

One Day at a Time (Netflix): I cannot stop gushing about this show, it’s probably one of my favorite first seasons of television in any genre I’ve seen in a long time. Perfectly written, impeccably cast, beautifully acted — from top to tail, every aspect of this show feels genuine and authentic. PLUS, it’s telling so many stories that deserve to be told that so often aren’t. Also, Rita Moreno is my new queen.

Riverdale (The CW): I’ve said it before (ok maybe not here but I definitely have said it out loud) and I’ll stand by it: I think The CW is making some of the most interesting and compelling TV out there right now. I love the darker take on Archie that Riverdale is taking but it doesn’t look like they’re putting too much distance between the TV series and its source. It’s been a while since we’ve had a strong teen soap, I’d say Gossip Girl was the last one, and Riverdale looks to fill that gap very nicely. Plus there is no shortage of dramatic and angsty material in the Archie universe to draw upon.

Big Little Lies (HBO): You may have guessed that I have a penchant for the dramatic. I just finished the book by Liane Moriarty and I could barely put it down. The source is all about secrets that we keep and secrets that we share, and is centered around the inevitable drama between parents of kindergarten kids. The cast alone is enough to make my head spin, and I cannot wait to see what they do with such a juicy story.

Honorable mentions: Shots Fired (Fox), When We Rise (ABC)

Yes! These are shows that I’m excited about but also have the potential to drift into the unwatched pile of shows I don’t care about in my various queues…or do worse and jump the shark early.

Legion (FX): The X-Men have had a rough go of it in entertainment. Some of the movies were genuinely good (X-Men, X2, First Class, Days of Future Past) and some were genuinely awful (X3, both Wolverine movies). Noah Hawley has shown us that he knows good storytelling with Fargo and I love both Aubrey Plaza and Dan Stevens (RIP Sir Matthew) so I can get behind this. My only worry is that it looks a little too cerebral and could get lost in it’s own ambitions

Emerald City (NBC): I love the Wizard of Oz. The universe that L Frank Baum created is so massive and sweeping and epic that basically anything that lands here is golden. Plus, Dorothy as a grizzled cop out of her element? Okay, I can see it. If nothing else, the costume design looks amazing!

Powerless (NBC): Ok, I know. We’re at peak superhero (there’s another one on this list even) and plenty of them include a good bit of comedy. But I’m intrigued by this premise, AND Vanessa Hudgens is very likable as the plucky underdog, plus Danny Pudi is so funny so I’ll give this a shot.

Honorable mentions: The Good Fight (CBS),

Good God whyyyyyy? These shows should have been left on the ‘Nope’ pile. Not expecting any surprises and am a hard pass on everything here.

Taken (NBC): There were literally three Taken movies. THREE. Without Liam Neeson, I don’t see any reason to watch how Brian Mills (Neeson) gets his “special set of skills.” The action and excellent fight scenes barely kept me along for the ride of the movies. Unless Neeson shows up, I’m not interested.

Star (Fox): I am a huge musical fan and love Empire just as much (probably more) as the next person, but there’s very little about this premise that excites me. Why aren’t these girls just Cookie’s new girl group? None of the characters seem compelling enough to warrant their own show, even Queen Latifah and Lenny Kravitz. I’ll listen to the soundtrack though.

Doubt (CBS): OMG SHE’S A LAWYER WHO SPEAKS HER MIND AND SLEEPS WITH A CLIENT!! Poor Katherine Heigl never should have left Grey’s Anatomy. Plus Dreama Walker showed us that she’s got some pretty serious comedy chops in ‘Don’t trust the B…’ and this only makes me miss here there, not want to watch more of her here.

Honorable mentions: Famous in Love (Freeform), Time After Time (ABC)

--

--

Kyle Moncelle
Kylevision

i was made to understand there were grilled cheese sandwiches here.