First App from Scratch

David Clark
L2Code
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2018

Well, I did it. It took me six days and roughly 24 hours to complete. To give you an idea, Thinkful says it should take 7–8 hours. This really shakes me. I had a lot of issues. I’m not strong with JavaScript, jQuery, or CSS, and I feel like the curriculum hasn’t given me the opportunity to practice those enough. It’s not like I could just Google “jQuery DOM event delegation practice” to find things to help me bone up, either. I wish it was that easy.

The completed app can be found here.

Going forward, I have a mock interview, which I am about 5% ready for. My mentor did a very simple mock-mock interview with me, in which he gave me a simple drill. I had the hardest time, and I feel like an idiot…

Here’s the drill we did:

//find sum of values in arrarr1 = [1, 900, 24];let currentSum = 0;function sumArr(){    for (let i = 0; i < arr1.length; i++){
let current = arr1[i];
currentSum = currentSum + current;
}}

This should be pretty easy, right? It sure looks easy. Unfortunately, I had the hardest time after that first line. I started with:

arr1 = [1, 900, 24];function sumArr(){}

And I watched the cursor blink.

It took the next 15 minutes and several mistakes for my mentor to coax the rest out of me.

So, I have a lot of work to do. This is why I haven’t been maintaining this publication as well as I wanted to. I don’t know how folks who’ve never coded before have and do write blogs while learning. Pretty crazy!

--

--

David Clark
L2Code
Editor for

Mindfulness | Humans | Animals | Earth | Coding | IG: the.coffee.smith