Results of my Capstone Review

David Clark
L2Code
Published in
2 min readJul 3, 2018
veghead

I received my feedback for my capstone today, which was approved!

Of the 30 possible points, I scored a 28.

Here is the feedback I received:

David, Great work on this project. I like that you took a real-world issue you have noticed and transformed that problem into a project with real-world value. The project overall is well done and will make an excellent well rounded portfolio example. The codebase is clean and very well commented out. The app is responding well to different devices and screen sizes and is easy to use. The design is simple but modern looking. I’m approving the project with some minor comments below:

On mobile, I would make the map 90% width, so there is a gutter to scroll past it to the information below, otherwise, on touch screens, it may be hard not to affect the map positioning while trying to scroll down.

Reduce the space below the “Resources” information.

On smaller screens, the “Resources” information needs more left and right padding.

The logo or project title for websites is generally at the top left; this is a web convention users are accustomed to at this point. I would switch the title to be in the top left rather than the top right.

Nice touch adding custom google markers on the map! With just a little refinement this will be an even stronger portfolio example. Keep up the top quality work!

I feel pretty good about this! And I definitely agree with their suggestions. I’ve put them in a to-do list.

Now, I’m going to stud a bit for my mock interview. Wish me luck!

--

--

David Clark
L2Code
Editor for

Mindfulness | Humans | Animals | Earth | Coding | IG: the.coffee.smith