Stop Right There Rappler (chika)

I, Napoleon B.
La Solidaridad
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2016

--

Stop right there Rappler! (chika.)

By: Katrina Stuart Santiago

In 2012, Maria Ressa threatened me with libel because I asked questions about Rappler’s kind of “uncompromised journalism.”

In 2012, Maria Ressa threatened me with libel. ON Twitter. Because to her, I should have asked her questions, instead of reading their website for what it had and more importantly, for what it DID NOT have.

In 2012, Maria Ressa threatened me with libel. She questioned my credibility, pointed out that I was no “pro” (in what, I don’t know), and then in the end said that my questions were: “malicious and unfounded, but would not go as far as filing case. Too much over too little.”

In 2012, Maria Ressa threatened me with libel. She did not think twice about invoking libel against a blogger who was asking valid questions, even if she must know that it is the most effective feudal strategy of silencing critics.

In 2012, Maria Ressa WAS herself the bully. She was patronizing. She was condescending. She put those words against me on social media, and then ended by dismissing what I said as “too little.” She NEVER apologized.

Now you want #NoPlaceForHate? Please. YOU started the hate. And now that people are no longer enamoured by your site, now that a bigger public can see through the veneer of pa-cool and pa-hip, now that people are more critical and telling you so, you want to reclaim the internet by calling for civility and decency?

Ay aba. Minsan mas disente pa ang taong nagmumura at nangi-insulto kesa sa gumagamit ng big words like libel.

#Rappler #GodsGiftToJournalism #MariaRessa #Throwback

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
La Solidaridad

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS