A Realization of Relaxation

Becca Baskam
La Vida Es Buena
Published in
5 min readMar 21, 2015

Current Contemplations at Playa Samara in Costa Rica

After almost a week of much anticipation, our group of 14 UGA students arrive at Playa Samara, a popular beach destination that is located in the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. At this point in the study abroad trip, we are not only students, but also vacationers arriving at a tourist-friendly beach to finish our time well spent in Costa Rica.

Playa Samara

The beach is welcoming. The temperature is high, in the low 90’s, causing the sand to burn our feet. We do not mind though. The water looks both clear and blue. It is the most absolute and refreshing view for tired students, who spent most of the week hiking and walking in the mountainous region of Monteverde. Though tourists like us are not able to visibly observe it, this beach changed forever almost three years ago when the earth below it trembled. On September 5, 2012, a 7.6 magnitude earthquake shook Playa Samara violently.

I close my eyes and try to imagine what it would be like to feel an earthquake of such high magnitude and just the thought is frightening. I think back to what it was like just a couple days ago, hiking and crossing bridges that were sturdy but would still sway beneath me. I experienced much anxiety crossing those bridges because the ground for which I had my feet on was not stable. My thoughts would always reach this comforting conclusion: I will be back on the sturdy ground soon. Now I sit here and imagine the ground that I trust to always be firm beneath my feet, shaking uncontrollably to the point that I cannot stand. Not only am I unable to stand buildings and bridges around me crack. The sandy beach shifts and stores are ruined as glass windows break and items, falling off shelves, are not salvageable.

An event that, in reality only last for seconds of time, permanently changes a beach and a community forever. One major change that the locals attribute to the earthquake is the change in wave size. The change in wave size is the result of the reef rising six feet due to the movement of the earthquake. The waves, once of a large variety of sizes, are now most suitable for beginner surfers. The change makes this beach a perfect spot for our group of students excitedly walking down the shore to take surf lessons at a local surf school called C&C.

My view

Upon my arrival at the C&C surf school, I immediately find a shady spot to relax and observe the surf lessons. I watch from beneath a couple of palm trees as most of our group decides to take a lesson. They then divvy up into two smaller groups.

One instructor begins explaining the maintenance of the surfboard. In very much depth, the instructor teaches the students how to properly wax the board, the most efficient way to hold the board and different hand signals that will allow each group member to communicate with each other once they are in the water.

The other instructor immediately begins teaching correct form to the second group. He shows his group of students how to properly get up and stand on the board as if they are in the water catching a wave. Each member of this group take turns practicing the correct stance. The instructor moves the boards underneath them to create a similar current to a wave.

Practicing the Stance

After the lesson is complete one group begins walking with their boards to the water. The group paddles out into the water and the students turn around. In a row, one at a time each person takes an attempt to stand up and ride a wave with the surfboard. Impressively, many of the group stands up on their board for at least a few seconds on their first attempt. Later the other group joins the first group in the water and also begins to catch waves.

Ready to try surfing

I begin to wonder, what is it about travel that is so appealing? And why do people have to travel in an attempt to feel completely relaxed? The reality is that traveling can be very stressful and even disappointing. For example, a few members of our group almost didn’t have flights home as the San Jose airport closed down due to a volcano erupting in Costa Rica. Really though, what are the odds of that happening the one week of 2015 that our group is in the country.

I realize that for some reason a necessary part of peace and relaxation is relocation, even an escape. I was escaping the trials that I left in my life back at home when I got on a plane to Costa Rica. I felt relief from thoaw stresses just from being in the air. Once in the air, it is easier to see a bigger picture than just my life and those stresses seem so small. It is as though my life’s problems are left on the ground of the runway and I am a bird in the air above them, flying far away. As I fly away I look down, and think that the truth is those problems seem so small from up here.

So here we are- at Playa Samara- our escape. We all feel freedom in some way. Our group met only a couple weeks ago and until this trip, we did not get to spend extensive time together. Some how at the same time we are both new friends and old strangers to each other. Yet in another country with people we barely know we feel some kind of peace. I wonder if there is a way to integrate the freedom that comes with travel into our normal lives. And the reality is, every day should be a day of travel. It may not be to a new country but everyday we are surrounded and challenged by something, somewhere and/or someone new. It is these relationships that bring us true understanding of others, both near and far and peace of mind, an essential feeling for a happy and fulfilling state of being.

Principle 15
Treat all living beings with respect and consideration.”

Principle 16
“Promote a culture of tolerance, nonviolence, and peace.”

(Earth Charter)

--

--