Engineering with Jewelry

Summer Clemons
LAB Atlanta Field Notes
4 min readSep 25, 2017

For my first project in engineering we decided to use our engineering process for the project. My first step in the process of creating my ring and bracelet was getting to know the problem. Mr. Hwang informed us about our first design and told us what we were making and how we were making them. This part was my “defining the problem” step. Next, I researched rings and bracelet styles to help me spark an idea on what I wanted my ring and bracelet to look like. I found inspiration with the pictures down below.

How my initial ring was going to look.
My first design for my bracelet.

These were my ideas and my solution to the problem. I had to sketch and create my measurements for my ring and bracelet. My sketches had to be detailed and from a view of each side (top, left, right, bottom, front, and back). I created tinkerCAD designs so that could make my ring and bracelet from the 3D printer. When I was on tinkerCAD (an easy, browser-based 3D design and modeling tool for all) I realized that my ring design was too complex so I switched it a more basic ring.

These are my sketches from each point of view of my bracelet.
These are the sketches for my ring design from the Top, Bottom, Right Side, Left Side, Back, and Front.
This is my ring for my second prototype.

I decided that this ring would be much easier to build than my first ring. This design would have my name engraved into a ring and there would be no crown. My first prototype of this ring was too thin and too big. Since the ring was too short, my name wasn’t readable; so I went back and made the ring thicker and made my ring smaller in diameter. My next ring was perfect: it was thick enough and was the right size.

This is my design of my ring on Tinker Cad. I have screenshots of the ring in different views with measurments.
From Left to right: The First and the second photo is my second prototype, it is smaller and thicker. The third picture is my prototype of the ring it was too big and to thin. The last photo is a comparison of the two next to each other.

I used my sketches to create my bracelet in TinkerCAD to print it out. I planned on having my name engraved in the plaque. I also wanted my bracelet to have the metal chain attached to it, but that line through it is not supposed to be shown. Also I knew that I had to make my name engraved a lot deeper because it didn’t show up on my first prototype. I realized that the plaque needed to be thicker so I would be able to create a bigger cylinder opening for the metal chain to go through the cylinder.

This was my first prototype for my Bracelet as you can see I had some major mistakes.

So I went back into TinkerCAD to engrave my name deeper into the plaque and to fix my cylindrical hole. I deepened the letters and they became a complete hole in the plaque. I made the actual plaque a lot thicker. The second prototype has my name engraved into it and has a thick base as my plaque plus the cylindrical hole is a lot bigger and does not show up through the plaque.

This is my second prototype designs of the bracelet plaque on Tinkcad.
This is how my second prototype looked there is a lot of improvement from the first to the second.

I liked the project, and I would definitely want to do this again. I think the objective of this project was for us to become familiar with TinkerCAD and the 3D printer. Another objective of this project was to learn the steps of the engineering process. I accomplished those objectives and learned multiple things will doing this project.

--

--