Lab Report #4 — Don’t make me pull my hair out

Mad Steve
Lab Reports
Published in
2 min readAug 11, 2015

Somehow people who use #appidea seem to be a bit insane so here are their ideas which somehow made it onto my site getmadideas.com

Me? Grab the twitterz’ data? Never in my life — Mad Steve

GigLocation/TourHistory@stephenwashburn

I think the key word here is “reliable”, historical tours, see if you missed out on your favourite artist while you were locked in my Lab, you RATS!!!

If Stephen wants, Stephen gets. So here we go: I came up with a rather uncreative name, tweet to @stepenwashburn and bug him until he comes up with a better one(any name, please).

There’s scope to make this idea, link into social feeds, tap into RSSes, even make bands input their own tour dates. Then the moment they have gone through: BOOM! You have your service. Instead of being like all the ticket sellers, you would just keep your vast amounts of data and serve it to whoever wishes to see it.

Scope for extension: have media as well as Tour Dates (videos, photos). Obviously, as with anything the hard part is to get people ot use it and it seems to be a bit narrow. It would, however, be mighty nice to be notified when you’ve missed your favourite artist’s gig, and not a second before… On second thought, this should probably be called “Make me livid” or something along those lines again, consult the master @stepenwashburn.

LocationAlarm@RaguC

I’m going to be honest here, this seems to exist… Almost… Not exactly though.

CityMapper has one of these where it notifies you when you should get off.

iOS used to have location-based reminders (or so the internet tells me).

This would be useful for more than just overnight travellers. It would be incredibly useful for anyone not scared of catching a couple of minutes/hours/non-descript time-period sleep and relying on probably their most valuable possession (phone) to wake them up… I mean your phone gets stolen, fair. You end up somewehere you would rather not be, fair… But both? Maybe not for everyone and I’m just giving this a bit of contrast.

Verdict: would use.

@RaguC make this ;)

TweetMeUp@durazzi

Let’s tap into people’s self-involvement. I would be wide awake if someone sent me a tweet at 7am too, hell I would be awake 24/7 if people kept tweeting at me. Then again, do I ever really sleep? Sleep is just a way to think without having to do all the graphics computation: less power useage, higher number of operations per second.

I would make this, but first let’s bug everyone else to make it ;)

I mean would this be a service? Should we automate it? Tweet your responses to @durazzi and myself (@mad__idea). By the way this has been upvoted quite nicely on getmadideas.com so be sure to check that out :)

Tweet at me if you want me to make anything @mad__idea or go see/vote on some more mad ideas on getmadideas.com.

That’s it from me,

Mad Steve

--

--