21 moments that made me feel more adventurous, because I Instagrammed them

Alyssa Rusco
Lab Work
Published in
4 min readJul 3, 2016

These pictures all have something in common, besides living on my Instagram account, because I put them there. They are a long-connected story of some of my most adventurous moments. I have waded in the ocean like a mermaid, I have paddled into seaside caves, I have hiked to the top of glorious mountain views, and I have basked under the fiery glow of the sky.

In actuality, these things are not my everyday moments. These images are only fragments of my biggest highlights, when I go on vacations and intentionally adventure out. Instagram has a sneaky way of piecing together only your best moments into a most adventurous picture-grid story that you call your life. Everyone would rather be “the most interesting person in the world.”

Sometimes, in our sharing generation, when we don’t post our best moments for the public to see, it feels like they might as well not have happened. Sometimes when we look at the best moments of others online, it can instill in us a sense of unrest, jealousy, and the idea that we’re not doing enough with ourselves.

Sure, posting is usually all in good fun. When you have enjoyed an adventurous moment of your life so keenly, you only want to relive that joy by posting it to your “Insta-scrapbook” and sharing it with all.

We use Instagram to share extraordinary things back-to-back, and that may make us feel really good sometimes, which is okay. Just remember that everyone’s picture-grid of all of the cool things they’ve ever done in one space, is not as organic and candid as it may seem. Also remember, the best part should be living in the adventure and not just posting about it.

Here is the craftily-pieced story I made for myself as an Instagrammer: adventure extraordinaire.

--

--