Denver, seafood and viral videos: Q&A with Tyler Kanwai of TK’s Surf and Turf Kitchen

Sabrina Gutierrez
Lab Work
Published in
4 min readFeb 28, 2021

When people think of Denver, there are probably many words that come to mind: Snow, mountains, skiing, Broncos. Because of its landlocked location, there’s a pretty good chance no one is thinking “seafood.” That is until TK’s Surf and Turf Kitchen came on the dining scene. Located in East Denver, TK’s Surf and Turf Kitchen is serving up crab, lobster, shrimp and other seafood creations along with sides such as mac and cheese, rice and garlic mashed potatoes. TK’s most famous dish, “The Works,” has even gone viral on TikTok.

In addition to gaining TikTok fame, TK’s claims the title of being the first black-owned, family-operated seafood restaurant in Denver. If that wasn’t impressive enough, the restaurant also opened up this past October, during the COVID-19 pandemic, a time when many long-standing eateries were shuttering their doors. I talked to TK’s owner, Tyler Kanwai, via email about going viral, starting a new business during challenging times and what’s in store for the future.

Q: How long have you lived in Denver, and what’s your background with the restaurant industry?

A: I’m a Denver native, and this is actually my first restaurant. Prior to opening a restaurant, I worked for a health insurance company. While working a full-time job four years back, I started selling seafood plates on my days off. Over time I began to gain a reputation amongst my followers on my social networks.

Q: What made you decide to open a restaurant (and in the middle of a pandemic, no less)?

A: I decided to open a restaurant in the middle of a pandemic because people love good food! Regardless of the state of the economy, people will always treat themselves to some exclusive food. While restaurants were closing due to the pandemic, I kept my hustle alive and, in turn, accumulated more customers.

Q: The viral video by @denverfoodscene featuring TK’s has over 1 million views on TikTok. How did social media attention affect your business? What has been the biggest challenge you’ve encountered since going viral?

A: The attention I received from social media tripled my overall sales. The old way of marketing a business is fading away, and the new norm is reaching consumers through social media. Social media is a virtual world that puts you in the room with everyone in the world, so why not promote there? The purpose of business is to make as much money as you possibly can! The biggest challenge after going viral was keeping up with the large influx of new business. I quickly adapted and purchased some top-of-the-line appliances that would increase production in my kitchen.

Q: How do you plan to use social media in the future to promote your business?

A: Initially I had the @denverfoodscene do a review on my signature plate “The Works,” and I didn’t do much after that. Now imagine if I had planned for this type of outcome. Moving forward, everything I post, I’ll have to always keep in mind that I’ve already went viral. And if I can do it once, I can do it again!

Q: The restaurant’s Facebook page states, “We’re the 1st Black owned + Family operated Seafood restaurant in Denver, CO.” As the first black-owned seafood restaurant in Denver, what impact do you hope to have on the community and restaurant scene?

A: I want to raise the standard when it comes to seafood served in Colorado. Beyond having the first black-owned seafood restaurant in Denver, food has no color. I intend on giving back to the same community that I grew up in. After all, I’m definitely a product of my environment. I hope to inspire anyone who has a dream that they’re passionate about. When you enjoy what you’re passionate about, and you monetize it, you’ll never think of it as work.

Q: What is your personal favorite dish that’s served at TK’s?

A: Hands down, my favorite dish served at my restaurant is “The Works” because you get a little bit of everything, which puts your taste buds in heaven.

Q: Once the pandemic is over, what does the future of TK’s look like to you? Do you have any plans of expanding or developing other types of restaurants?

A: Once the pandemic is over, I plan on opening a dine-in location downtown, which would be more like a supper club. Locations in other states will come once I reach the goals I’ve set for myself in my own city. When I first laid out the blueprint for my restaurant, I envisioned it being similar to the Turkey Leg Hut in Houston, and to be honest, my vision just became a reality.

--

--

Sabrina Gutierrez
Lab Work
Writer for

Journalism and Media Communication student at Colorado State University Online.