How to Navigate Your Social Life with Celiac Disease

Sara Trautman
Lab Work
Published in
4 min readSep 16, 2022
Photo by Kelsey Chance on Unsplash

We meet friends for breakfast, brunch, lunch, tapas, dinner and dessert. Eating and socializing are inextricably woven together in our culture.

For those of us with celiac disease, socializing can feel like a strategical nightmare. And, I’ll admit, until I found some tools to navigate these situations, it was. With a few resources, a bit of planning and some honest communication, I am learning to keep both my body and my social life healthy. Here are six of the best tips I’ve come across so far.

  1. Keep a backup stash
Photo by Maksim Shutov on Unsplash

Stock your car, purse and desk with shelf-stable snacks. These will serve you well when there aren’t safe options during a working lunch, when a restaurant isn’t as celiac-friendly as advertised or when plans change unexpectedly. It may be slightly awkward, but you will avoid the ultra-awkward scenario of watching other people guiltily eat while your stomach grumbles.

2. Research area restaurants

Photo by K8 on Unsplash

There are a slew of websites that keep up-to-date information on which restaurants are celiac-friendly. My favorite is The National Celiac Association list, which is searchable by geographic location. Currently, it lists over 700 restaurants in the Fort Collins area that offer gluten-free menu options.

3. Invite friends over for a simple gluten-free meal

Photo by Clark Douglas on Unsplash

In the first weeks after my diagnosis, I struggled to feed myself. The prospect of cooking for guests seemed overwhelming. Luckily, a friend with celiac disease pointed me toward the Iowa Girl Eats website. She focuses on simple, filling, gluten-free meals anyone can prepare. You’ll find a huge selection of recipes that are tasty enough for a dinner party and safe for you to eat.

4. Invite friends over for a cheap gluten-free meal

Photo by Diane Helentjaris on Unsplash

The first time I went grocery shopping after my diagnosis, I found myself wide-eyed in the gluten-free section exclaiming, “Seven dollars for a loaf of bread!” Sticker shock seems to come with the gluten-free territory. If you capitalize on the legwork of seasoned celiac chefs, you can find an array of frugal recipes. Gluten-Free On a Shoestring is a great site to source recipes to feed a crowd without breaking the bank.

5. Reach out to potential dinner hosts

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

I spent a substantial amount of time and effort researching the difference between gluten allergies and celiac disease. I read countless articles about cross-contamination and gluten-free kitchens. It’s only fair to assume that a potential dinner host isn’t up to speed on the ins-and-outs of safely preparing food for someone with celiac disease. When I have explained the situation and emphasized I would still love to accept their invitation if possible, the vast majority of people are understanding and helpful. I have offered to bring my own food. I have offered to attend the portion of the event that follows the meal. At times, the host has insisted on providing a meal option for me. When that is the case, it’s important to let them know what that commitment entails. Nutritionist Selina Devries published a detailed article outlining how to safely prepare food for someone with celiac disease. After providing the host with the link to this article, I always add, “Take a look at this. We can touch base again to confirm which option makes the most sense for us both.” Ultimately, I want to emphasize I appreciate the invitation and value the relationship.

6. Let your loved ones be on your team

Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

Remember, the people that love you will still want to spend time with you, even if your diagnosis makes it a little trickier. Share helpful information and resources with them so they know how to support you. Websites like the Celiac Disease Foundation are great place to start.

--

--