Interview with Photographer Jamie Siebert

Ryan Waneka
6 min readJun 29, 2015

--

Jamie Leigh Siebert. Photo by Triniti Jensen

Jamie Siebert is a 22-year-old photographer based in Boulder, Colorado. She has a past in portraiture and travel photography. Find her photography Facebook page here. While Siebert enjoyed using her camera at weddings the majority of the time, she ultimately decided it was not her calling. Instead, Siebert pursued a greater calling, to use her photo and design skills for Jesus. Currently, Siebert works for an organization called Cru. Cru is a missional campus ministry that provides a caring community and a safe place for anyone to go to feel the love of Jesus. Siebert not only uses her gift of photography in the states, but she also takes it abroad to different countries. She has traveled to many places including Hungary, Serbia, and Greece. She spent last summer on staff for Cru in Greece, both photographing the trip as well as sharing her faith with the people there. Feel free to check out her travel photos on her Facebook. I interviewed Jamie through email, seeing as she is a pretty busy young woman. Thankfully, she got back to me in good time. Here is what she had to say about her experiences growing as a photographer here in the states and overseas, who she learns from, and how the digital landscape has affected her work.

Q: How did you get into photography? What were your first photo experiences?

A: I’ve always been an artist of some sort and did a lot of dabbling before I got hooked on photography. For me, photography offered the way for me to best articulate people’s stories. I love creating images that speak — whether it’s one single image, or a series of images.

I was first exposed to photography in journalism in high school, and got my first DSLR in 2011. I just started shooting everything — I thought it was fun. It wasn’t until I went to Serbia in 2012 that I really experienced just how powerful photography is, because I got to communicate the Serbian culture through my photos.

Q: Who did you learn from? Self-taught?

A: I am 100% self-taught. It took a really long time to get really good. I literally read my entire camera manual, along with following lots of blogs and just trying things out.

Q: What photographers inspire you most?

A: Some of my favorite photographers are The Manchiks, Ben Sasso, and Benj Haisch. I would die to have any of them shoot my wedding someday. They capture emotion perfectly and there is such consistency in their images. They push the limits. But I think I am most inspired by Yan Palmer, who is a well-known family photographer. Family photographers often get overlooked, but Yan captures children especially in a breathtaking way. She has revolutionized family photography and it inspires me to never stop increasing my creativity and pushing the limits with what I shoot.

Q: What are some of your best experiences with photography? What do you enjoy photographing most?

A: One of the greatest feelings is being reminded that what I do is important. Portraits can sometimes become so second nature that I’ll take some photos of my friends — and I’m just having fun — then I see them make it their profile picture on every social media platform with all sorts of encouraging feedback, and I remember that what I do matters so, so much. I can change how people see themselves.

Ultimately, I have taken my favorite photos overseas and during styled shoots. When I feel no pressure to impress a client but can let my mind run is when I really thrive. I guess what I love most is making portraits that express something so clearly that you don’t need words and you can just get lost in the image.

Q: What advice do you have for aspiring photographers? Or people who have a little interest in trying photography?

A: Do it. And don’t do it because it’s the cool thing to do — do it because you love it. Nothing grows or lasts if it’s not tied to passion and understanding. And if you love it, give yourself a break. It takes a really long time to get good. Keep shooting what you love and pushing yourself — and find others to push you, too. Show them your work. Ask for feedback. Shoot with other photographers. Second-nature technique takes a long time, but pursue it along with developing your eye. Both are important. Also, find another outlet of creativity. You’ll get burned out otherwise. For me, that’s writing. Sometimes, after I shoot so much that I start dreading it, I won’t touch my camera for weeks and I’ll write instead. Then I’ll come to a point where I’m refreshed and ready to create images again. You just have to find a balance that works for you.

Q: Have you created any good relationships through photography? How so?

A: SO MANY! I’ve created relationships as well as re-established relationships. A lot of my close friends now are people who I knew of but never connected with until photography brought us in the same circle. I have met so many other great photographers that challenge and encourage me, as well as tons of amazing clients who have become my friends.

Q: What equipment do you use?

A: I shoot with a Nikon D600 (D7000 as my backup body) and primarily my Nikon 35mm 1.4 and Sigma 50mm 1.4 Art. I also have an 85mm 1.8 along with two SB700 speedlights (I generally only use these at wedding receptions).

Q: How did you become so awesome at what you do?

A: The best thing I ever did for myself as a photographer was become comfortable with myself as a person. It revolutionized the way I shoot and the way I interact with my clients. I stopped trying to create stuff like others were creating and I stopped trying to market myself the same way famous photographers do. I started incorporating my personality and interests into my brand, and building up friendships instead of clientele. Not only did my business take off, but my work improved and I loved what I was doing. You’ll never succeed at being someone else.

Q: How has social media played a role in your photography?

A: Well, social media is something I think we all have to come to terms with. As for me, social media was already in existence when I was just starting out as a photographer. I have grown up with it. Since I am used to it being there, I think it has made it easy for me to utilize it for my work. I primarily use Facebook for both my portfolio work and my work with Cru.

Q: Have different social media platforms changed how you do your job?

A: As I said in the previous answer, I have grown up with social media for the most part. But I do think some platforms have affected the way I do things regarding my photography. I promote myself quite a bit with Facebook because that is where most people will see my work, but Instagram has helped me find my way and even find my own style. Every photographer has his or her own style, and it takes time to kind of narrow down what it is we love to create most. Seeing different styles and finding awesome photographers through Instagram has had a major impact on how I want to do my photography. I am so inspired by people like the Manchiks. It makes me want to keep creating, push the limits, and inspire others the way they have inspired me.

--

--