Q&A with Diandra Lazor: Cosplay Scream Queen

Ashley Labaki
Lab Work
Published in
5 min readFeb 27, 2021
Literally the coolest person ever. Picture by Fearopoly.

When I attended my first horror convention as a cosplayer in 2015, I was riddled with nerves. Would my cosplay fall apart? Was I going to make a fool out of myself in front of celebrities? It was like radioactive butterflies had taken up residence in my gut. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous about meeting Diandra Lazor in person.

Not just Diandra, the Diandra. A cosplayer and content creator whom I not only looked up to as a figure in the horror community, (I would consider her the premiere Nancy Thompson cosplayer,) but someone I’d been conversing with for years through one forum or another. She was someone I respected and admired. To me, she was the epitome of cool, and mildly intimidating.

Luckily, she’s actually the opposite of intimidating. She was encouraging, kind, and funny, and I still admire her for her talent and humor.

Diandra has starred in an “A Nightmare on Elm Street” fan film, “Don’t Fall Asleep,” in which she took on the role of Nancy Thompson. She’s also coproducing a documentary about the Elm Street fan community called “FredHeads.” Not only is she one of the most recognizable cosplayers in the Elm Street community, she’s also gone viral on TikTok and has amassed over two-hundred thousand followers. And she deserves every shred of that recognition.

I was able to reach out to Diandra, who graciously agreed to answer some questions via Facebook chat, at which time we discussed how she got started in horror, her thoughts on the horror community, and going viral on social media.

What first got you into the horror genre?

I was born in October and always surrounded by spooky things. But I was terrified of them. Yet, I was still curious. My grandma had the VHS tapes of the universal monsters that my cousin watched, I watched them and enjoyed them. I think that was the start. I always read R.L. Stine, they were the only books I cared about.

I know you’ve said before that the horror community has made you feel at home. What does the community mean to you?

It means a sense of acceptance. People who don’t judge me for what I like. It’s an instant connection, a bond between strangers. While we feel like outsiders most of the time, together it feels safe. It’s where we feel most like ourselves around our “people.”

Is there anything you don’t like about the horror fandom, or is there anything you think could improve?

I think there are a lot of cliques. I don’t know much about them, but people can be super judgmental. It’s toxic. I think we also have to keep calling out the bad seeds. We also need to be more supportive of each other.

I remember you from way back in the IMDB message board days when you were still going by Nancy Thompson of Elm Street, and now you’re one of the more recognizable cosplayers in the Elm Street community, but also in the horror community as a whole. What has it been like to get that kind of recognition?

Unexpected, an honor, unbelievable! When I started, social media was newer. I had no idea things would evolve how they did. I was just having fun, trying to get people to think about Nancy more. I didn’t expect them to. I didn’t think that me, the girl who often got picked on for her fandoms, would be able to inspire people. To think I’ve been able to change someone’s life in the way horror has changed mine, blows my mind. I can’t even describe how happy it makes me to know I’ve helped others. I thought of myself as a part of the crowd but to know I have something out of it is just…seems otherworldly. Like I’ve crossed a threshold into an area that I didn’t think was possible.

What’s your favorite kill in the Elm Street series?

Tina’s. It’s so emotional and raw. And the way it is executed is inventive. Beautifully tragic…like Tina. And what a way to showcase what Freddy can do right off the bat!

What has it been like meeting Elm Street alumni, but particularly, meeting Heather Langenkamp?

You stand there and think, “Wow, that’s really them. That’s this person I’ve been watching and drawing and talking about!” It’s surreal. But it’s also so exciting. Meeting Heather was the first time I ever met someone I admired so much. I avoided her because I was so nervous. But the joy was unmatched. She was so sweet and enthusiastic about what I do. The person I did everything for appreciated it. It changed how I saw myself.

What was it like making “Don’t Fall Asleep” and getting to step into the role of Nancy on film?

Scary. Because I love her so much, I felt like this was the moment to show how well I know her. I was worried people would think I couldn’t act and that I didn’t know Nancy. Luckily, no one has said that. Huge relief.

Since the pandemic began, a lot of events, such as conventions, have gone virtual or been canceled, which has greatly reduced the horror community’s ability to connect in person. The internet has always been a great tool to connect as a fandom. How has this affected you as a member of this community, and as a content creator?

I need time alone to recharge, but I am a huge people person. And at cons you get to see friends and meet new ones. It has taken a bit hit on my happiness not having that. Moreover, I’ve just felt so uninspired. I turned to TikTok but most other areas suffered, like my podcasts. It’s getting better but it’s still a work in progress. Everyone needs to respect how they’re thinking and feeling but also sometimes take small steps in the direction they want to go. I’m trying!

Tell me about going viral on TikTok! I think your Regina-dropping-her-weapon video had something like five million views when I last looked.

It did! And I don’t know why because it’s nothing remarkable! But that was a dream come true. I always felt one bucket list items for content creators is to go viral. And I did. It feels surreal but I’m so proud! A highlight of the year!

What are you most looking forward to doing once the world gets a bit more back to normal?

Conventions and seeing people. I miss that energy so much. Even though I stepped back beforehand because cons are really expensive. But I have so much I want to start doing, and I’m excited about it!

Diandra’s standout cosplay from Horrorhound Weekend in 2018: Nancy/Ash. Groovy. Picture by: Fangoria.

Massive thanks to Diandra for taking the time to chat with me! I would highly suggest checking out her TikTok account here at @sassysledgehammer.

For more Diandra content, “Don’t Fall Asleep” is a great watch, and be sure to follow her on Twitter and Instagram! You can also check out Elm Street Radio for more horror content.

It’s worth the watch, trust me!

--

--

Ashley Labaki
Lab Work
Writer for

Ashley is a journalism student at Colorado State. She lives in Ohio with her dog.