What do college students think about using social media for hiring?

Abby Huether
Lab Work
Published in
5 min readMar 2, 2020
Clear Light Bulb Placed on Chalkboard by Pixabay is licensed under CC0

According to statistics, employers are looking at applicant’s social media whether they like it or not (yes, it is legal). What do these potential candidates think about this, though? The majority of the age range (18–29) is using social media. Since they are within an age where they’re most likely looking for a job, their posts can affect the probability of being hired. There are pros and cons to the issue, so it’s important to get the opinion of those who are affected by this topic.

Kaitlyn Craig is a junior this year at Colorado State University. Originally an on-campus student, she switched to online courses a year ago. Her major is journalism and media communication with a minor in business. She hopes to have a job in social media marketing, maybe creative director or assistant. Her hobbies are photography, playing guitar and hanging with friends and family. I interviewed Kaitlyn over chat about her thoughts on social media and the impact that it can have on future jobs.

Abby: Do you have social media?

Kaitlyn: I have multiple social media accounts because my ultimate goal is to go into social media marketing. I try to have an account on every platform so I can study them and better understand the benefits and abilities of each social media.

Abby: What is your favorite social media platform?
Kaitlyn: Instagram and TikTok! They are so fun!

Abby: Would you say you’re active on social media? Why or why not?

Kaitlyn: Personally, I am not crazy active on social media. Although, I love learning about it. I take courses about it or research it in my free time. The activity I personally do on social media is normally limited to just interacting with my friend’s posts (like “liking” or commenting). For example, I haven’t posted on Instagram yet this calendar year. As much as I love social media for business, I think it tends to have a harsh effect on people’s mental health. Therefore, I have tried to limit my usage of it (I’ve done a lot of research on its effects on the mind, so I just try to limit to make sure it doesn’t affect me in that way).

Abby: Do you think not being as active puts you at a disadvantage?
Kaitlyn: No, not at all! I choose to not have many followers and to keep my personal circles small online. I like privacy and not doing the “norm”. But that doesn’t mean I don’t know the science behind social media marketing, and I haven’t researched analytics! I still know the skills I’ve learned, and I could execute them in the future for a business that hired me!

Abby: What has been your favorite course for learning more about social media?
Kaitlyn: This course [JTC 326] has allowed me to focus on social media marketing specifically, which has been fantastic!

Abby: Do you have just a personal account, or do you have a professional account?
Kaitlyn: I have both! I mainly just use my personal ones right now, though.

Abby: Has your social media ever positively or negatively affected a job of yours?

Kaitlyn: Currently, my knowledge of social media from a business standpoint has helped me in a work setting. However, I have witnessed it affecting friends or people I know online negatively due to what they chose to post (basically something inappropriate or not professional for work). I also keep my personal accounts private, and from a young age, was told to be careful what I post because the “internet is forever.” So I’ve always been cautious.

Abby: Does having a business minor help with your understanding of social media?
Kaitlyn: It doesn’t, but it does teach me a lot of business basics, which is useful information!

Abby: Do you think that it’s fair for an employer to make a decision based on social media?

Kaitlyn: I do think it is fair for an employer to make a decision based off of public social media. A company has an image and a message that they want to uphold and share to their clientele. Think of it in terms of a dress code. A company might have you dress a certain way to appear more in line with their standards. The same goes for public social media. However, if your account is private and you’re posting to just your friends and family, I don’t think it should matter or be any of the company’s business what you post to your loved ones in private. They can’t control everything. There needs to be a limit and middle ground.

Abby: Do you think that there’s a better way to go about it? Do you think employers should be up front about it?

Kaitlyn: I think that the best way to go about it is for an employer to be upfront about it. Going back to the dress code example, you were told from day one what you are allowed to wear. You should be told from day one what rules your company has regarding social media

Abby: What would you say people should just not post?

Kaitlyn: I think anything that is intentionally hurtful or evil should not be posted. I also think that our generation lacks the concept of privacy, but that is because we grew up in such a public and connected era. So it would be best for future generations or our own to learn personal limitations regarding what should be posted.

Abby: What posts do you think are positive?

Kaitlyn: I think posts that are inclusive and respectful/mindful, as well as the posts that have the intention to better or help someone or something are normally the positive posts.

Abby: Do you think people post too much?

Kaitlyn: As much as I believe privacy is a concept that doesn’t really exist anymore in today’s electronic culture, I don’t necessarily think people post too much. I think however much someone wants to post should be up to them.

Abby: Do you think that lacking the concept of privacy is a negative thing?

Kaitlyn: Yes, personally, I think some aspect of privacy is beneficial to everyone. However, I’m sure people would have different opinions and reasoning for the other side! I just like to have a choice to share versus not share.

--

--