YouTube’s AprilMayRain Comments on the Highs and Lows of Being a YouTuber

Lauryn Parkhurst
Lab Work
Published in
3 min readOct 9, 2016

The world of YouTube can be extremely rewarding, but it can also come with quite a bit of backlash. Subscribers are not always there to praise and approve of YouTubers’ content. In fact, it is one of the biggest reasons that people are unsure about starting their channels in the first place. YouTuber, AprilMayRain knows quite a bit about subscriber support and hatred through his four years as a YouTuber. AprilMayRain has just under 5,000 subscribers and usually receives about 150 to 200 views per video. I was able to interview AprilMayRain over the phone about the highs and lows of his YouTube career.

Q: What is the best part of being a YouTuber?

A: The best part of being on YouTube is the subscribers. It feels like I have a whole other family on the internet and it is incredible. They are the reason that I do what I do.

Q: Why did you start YouTube?

A: I started my YouTube account to play my music and share it with friends and family, but eventually it turned into a place for me to share all of my interests and hobbies with my YouTube community.

Q: Would you say that you are an extrovert or an introvert?

A: I would say that I am smack dab in the middle. I definitely feel like an introvert, but I can also be an extrovert when I want to be. I feel that I can open up and be the extroverted person when I turn on the camera, but I am not always that way in my day-to-day life.

Q: Is it hard for you to put so much of your vulnerability on the internet?

A: It can be a bit nerve racking. I haven’t always been this comfortable while making videos but it is something that you just pick up as you do it. It definitely helps to know that you are in control of editing all of the footage before it goes out; no one will see a clip if you don’t want them to.

Q: How often do you receive rude or hateful comments or messages from people on YouTube?

A: I don’t get all that many because I am still growing as a YouTuber, but I would say there are always a couple. No matter what you do you just can’t please everyone. Luckily I have some great subscribers who are always super supportive, but I do see some horrible comments on bigger channels.

Q: Do you react to the rude comments that you get?

A: No, I just leave them alone. For the most part there is really nothing to say to people that say rude things just to say them. There is no winning in that situation so leaving it alone is the best way to handle it.

Q: Do you let the rude comments get to you?

A: I really try not to but there are always some that stick in your brain. I think the worst part of the rude comments is that some of my pretty loyal subscribers will jump in and try to defend me and then it just turns into a huge comment fight on my video. At that point I have no choice but to delete them because I don’t want all of the hostility to be associated with my channel.

Q: How do you think you will handle the rude comments as your channel progresses and you gain a larger following base?

A: I think I will try to have much of the same attitude about it and do my best to not let it get to me. I just hope that I can spread enough positivity through my channel that it will rub off on my viewers and keep them from being hostile.

--

--