How one Labor candidate rolled up his sleeves and worked even harder

Labor Herald
Labor Herald
Published in
4 min readJul 7, 2016
Dr Mike Kelly (centre) with some of his Eden-Monaro volunteers. (Source: Facebook)

The successful Labor candidate in what was traditionally considered the bellwether seat of Eden-Monaro, Dr Mike Kelly, says it is a tradition in the electorate that after elections, candidates put aside the labels and work together for the benefit of the community. And that’s exactly what he’s now doing.

In a message to his supporters, volunteers and the community at large in a seat which covers an area from Yass, Murrumbateman and Bungendore in the north and south to the Victorian border, excluding the Australian Capital Territory, Kelly said their support was truly inspiring.

Kelly first won the seat in the Labor landslide of 2007, and continued to retain the seat through to 2013 when it was lost back to the Liberals, to Peter Hendy.

“Thanks to everyone who contributed so much in time and donations to the campaign in Eden-Monaro; it was truly inspiring and kept me going when energy levels were low,” Kelly said.

“I am very proud of the positive agenda we put before our community and the massive effort we made to ensure we were closely in touch with the issues and problems of concern to them.

“After elections we put aside the labels and all work together for the benefit of the community.”

“All the experts wrote us off after the redistribution but we just rolled up our sleeves up and worked even harder.

“I recognise many Liberal voters changed their position for the first time in this election and I want to say to you that I understand how hard that was and reassure you that I will strive to be worthy of your vote.

“I will fight just as hard for all those who didn’t vote for me as well.

“I believe we share many basic values that underpin the life of our community,” he said.

The electorate, which covers almost 42,000 square kilometres, includes towns such as Adaminaby, Adelong, Batlow, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Cabramurra, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Murrumbateman, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Talbingo, Tathra, Tumbarumba, Tumut and Yass.

“It is a tradition in Eden Monaro that after elections we put aside the labels and all work together for the benefit of the community,” Kelly said.

“I have already reached out to Pru Goward and will likewise seek to talk to John Barilaro, Andrew Constance and Greg Aplin as soon as possible.

“I will look to get to Sydney as soon as I can to meet with Minister Toole to discuss the forced merger process and look to mitigate the impacts of this policy.

“If the Turnbull government is returned, I will ensure I hold them to account for their commitments and lobby for the uptake of my own.

“I will ensure the delivery of my promises.”

“I will also work hard with business and the community to achieve my broader vision for the future of this region.

“If Labor is able to from government now or in the near future, I will ensure the delivery of my promises,” he said.

The electorate’s main industries include timber, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming.

The Snowy Mountains Hydroelectric Scheme, the snowfields in the Alps and tourism are also important to the division.

“Given the physical challenge of the new boundaries of Eden-Monaro and the current electoral office configuration, I will look for ways to ensure equal and good service to the south west slopes and Yass Valley, and will keep you posted on those plans.

“I would like to thank all the candidates who contested Eden-Monaro who helped make it the celebration of democracy that it was.

“I have seen the alternative in places like Somalia, Bosnia, Timor, Iraq and Afghanistan and believe that no matter how tedious or frustrating at times, we should be very grateful for what we have.

“I wish Peter Hendy all the best and my thoughts are with his staff who I know from bitter experience will be doing it tough right now.

“This land is my blood and bone.”

“I hope the Liberal Party look after you in helping you find alternative employment.

“Mostly I want to thank the people of this region for giving me the chance to serve them once again.

“This land is my blood and bone and I have a deep and profound love for it.

“I am intent on dedicating the remainder of my working life to your service.

“I would only ask for some patience over the next couple of weeks as at present I have no office, staff, car or work phone but will get this sorted as quickly as the process allows.

“I hope to see you soon on the road and wish you all good fortune and good health,” he added.

This article originally appeared in the Labor Herald.

--

--

Labor Herald
Labor Herald

Serving up news from the Australian Labor Party and its community.