WHY TRUMP HAD TO BECOME PRESIDENT*

Reinaldo Piloto
Labor
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2018
*I AM NOT a Trump supporter. I believe he is a piece of shit.

I remember the night that Trump got elected like it was tomorrow. It was late and to my surprise he was winning in the polls but I thought nothing of it so I went to bed. Shortly after I woke up in the middle of the night to my girlfriend crying her eyes out. “It can’t be,” I thought as I looked over at my phone and sure enough, Donald Trump was elected as the 45th President of United States.

It’s been a little over a year and the anxiety this election has caused to so many people is evident everyday. I stopped reading and watching the news because I don’t want to accept his presidency as our reality and although I make a conscious effort to distance myself from the news, not a day goes by without me hearing about his latest antics.

I think much of the anxiety is rooted in the disbelief of the racist behavior that is becoming acceptable and the uncertainty of what will happen next. Personally I’m most concerned with how people are feeling empowered to be racist and sexist and the safety of our country. It really seems like we’re becoming our own worst enemy.

But if there’s anything positive that can come out of this it’s the realization that there has always been a problem with our country. Trump is the slap in the face we needed to wake up and see that the racist and sexist behavior in our country hasn’t gotten much better. The only difference now is that these same people are being empowered. They are seeing first hand that the supposed leader of our country can get away with saying anything and doing anything. So why can’t they? It’s becoming clear that we cannot depend on our country to do what’s right. The Trump administration has their own agenda.

I hate to say it but protesting in today’s modern age does not do enough in my opinion. It’s harder now than ever before to make a message heard because with social media and the internet, everyone has a voice. The only way we can create meaningful change is by coming together and being more creative in how we make our message felt.

Often times you need to hit rock bottom in order to find yourself again. I wish there was a better way but I believe Trump had to become President for us to truly come together and stand up for what’s right. I, like many other people want to do something about it but I know that I can’t do it alone. So I challenge creators to see this as an assignment. The United States is our client and the main objective is to unite the people of the country through one unifying action. The way in which we accomplish this is what we need to figure out. But I view it as our responsibility as creators to create the change we want to experience in our lives.

If you’re down with the mission, reach out to us. Let’s figure out a solution that will improve the quality of life together.

--

--