Doc Halladay and all he gave us

Joseph sloan
Laces Out
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2017

Roy Halladay was an amzing pitcher, that fact is so true. His time in Toronto made the Jay’s season and after season of losing bearable. He made baseball fun to watch and I always made sure I was watching when he pitched. When he got traded to the Phillies I still watched him and cheered him on. That season was so special for him getting a perfect game and a no hitter in the same year.

I remember his smile, he smiled it seemed every time you looked at him or saw him in an interview. You really don’t know someone especially in sports unless you get to meet them. I haven’t felt this sad about an athlete dying since Greg Moore and from what I’ve read he sounds very similar to Greg.

I got to meet Greg Moore and he was so nice, he smiled and took the time to talk and to really engage with you. I watched the Sheriff from Tampa Florida talk about Roy Halladay the same way. Saying that he was a part of the community, that he was just someone who lived there. Not one of the greatest pitchers that baseball has ever seen.

Roy loved to fly, that was his passion after retiring from baseball. He logged over 800 hours in that little plane of his and saw things most of us will never see. He shared his experience with the world on twitter and what I got out of everything he’s done is that he lived his life with love for everyday.

Fourty is so young to be gone, especially someone with a zest for life as Roy had. Some might say he should’ve played it safe, stayed on the ground and maybe lived a longer life. But I leave you with his quote from his twitter so that we all may live our lives just a little bit more amazingly. “ Courage is not being fearless but rather acting in spite of the existence of fear!”

My condolences to his family.

Joseph

--

--

Joseph sloan
Laces Out

I love music, videography, writing about the NHL and betting on the NFL. Check out my NHL related publication called NHL Stories: https://medium.com/nhlstories