“Social Media Liability”

Amy Chen
Ladies Storm Hackathons
4 min readApr 19, 2015

As I have been writing more and more, I have also been thinking about the price of releasing this content publicly.

Social media has undoubtedly become a medium to speak up about incidences that impede our sense of justice. Whether it be speaking up about sexual harassment, racism, homophobia, or a slew of plights against marginalized groups, people have been sharing their experiences to the world in a very public manner. In my particular case, aside from miscellaneous personal experiences, I often write about women in tech.

Here are some select incidences that have come to my attention. I have linked either an article about them, or public tweet:

Kelly Ellis:

She is an ex-Googler who quit due to sexual harassment from a co-worker and boss. She came out of her silence on Twitter.

Julie Horvath:

An ex-Github employee who also spoke up in a very public manner after enduring harassment from the company founder’s wife.

Shanley:

Founder of a popular publication called “Model View Culture” that critiques many aspects of tech culture notes the following:

Elizabeth Bentivegna:

A senior in college who shared on Facebook that was denied from a job because of her clothing and was told that she “looked more like she was about to go clubbing than an interview”.

Up until and including now, I have not written anything that I have considered particularly controversial. In many cases, I have certainly censored myself and portrayed myself as more level-headed than I actually may be feeling in the moment.

Why? Because I’m scared.

I am scared that companies will view me as a social media liability and refuse to hire me if they see a controversial Medium post, Facebook status, or tweet.

Though I entirely recognize the importance of speaking up, and these women’s invaluable contribution to other women within the field, I also recognize what these people are putting on the line to say these things in public.

I am scared because…

1. I may be viewed as an unreasonable “Social Justice Warrior”

Though on the whole, I could care less about what other people think of me, my reputation as being reasonable is very important. As a result, I sometimes refrain from making critical comments. If I do, I am on high alert and always feel pressured to “take the higher road”, even when the situation does not merit it.

Whether you like it or not, everyone has an opinion and many will publicly judge you in return.

2. Future employers will see me as a liability

My future career is incredibly important to me. After seeing women’s careers destroyed as a direct result of speaking up on social media, I would be terrified to follow that difficult path.

(As a side note, aside from scrutinizing company culture, I think that company HR processes should also be scrutinized.)

3. Being doxxed

I have also watched this happen to many women. Though my personal information has never been publicly leaked, I have in the past received an anonymous text on my cell phone.

What frustrates me,

is that there are so many people (including me and many friends), who will censor themselves, withhold from weighing in on social justice topics they care about, or just be entirely silenced.

Even in this post, there are things I am withholding to win your trust as reader, one of many with diverse backgrounds, in order to sound reasonable. (Whatever that even means…) I also suspect rebuttals about victimizing myself.

In my personal goals of being a successful career woman, I wonder if there will ever be a balance between speaking up and the risk of speaking up.

Will women always have to quit their jobs when things go too far and speak up afterwards? Or be viewed as social justice warriors for even mentioning feminism?

One of my greatest fears,

is that from one false move, my writing would be stripped of its validity. That I would be painted as some unreasonable bombastic social justice warrior. That I would not even be given the dignity of the recognition that I am a level-headed and reasonable person.

Writing gives voice to people who are otherwise silent. And relatability to those who are otherwise alone.

However…

I am sad to say that there are things I am not willing to risk for the sake of fighting against sexism or harassment.

As honest as I try to make my writing, I also acknowledge the truths that are often omitted.

(If you liked my post, please share / like below.)

--

--