Alexandra Duncan — LTUX stories

Ladies that UX Seattle
Ladies that UX Seattle
3 min readSep 3, 2020

Who am I?

“My entry into the UX field was pure happenstance. I worked for many years in marketing and communications and naturally progressed into a role as a content strategist. This included managing editorial planning for all communications channels, developing style and tone guidelines for companies, and localizing content for specific markets with different cultures and languages. I developed a specific interest in UX writing along the way! I speak over three languages every workday. I would be interested in getting to know more writers and UX researchers that have worked abroad or have experience in multi-lingual environments.”

What is your routine to improve your UX design skills?

“There are so many ways to get involved and brush up on your skills. I personally started with online courses and joined a network of writers: User Experience Writer’s Collective (UXWC) <https://uxwriterscollective.com/>. Now, I stay up to date with the industry through podcasts as well as Slack and Facebook groups. Another nice resource is a Daily UX Writing challenge <https://dailyuxwriting.com/>, which sends a writing prompt in your inbox for 14 days. I am also often looking for interesting pro-bono or side gigs to flex my UX writing muscle.”

Do you have any suggestions for resources to enhance your UX skills?

“I also moved my learning offline to attend conferences and meetups. Now virtual events are growing in popularity. I cannot stress enough the importance of a strong network of people that work on all sides of a project including UX designers, researchers, developers, and product managers.”

What advices do you want to give to people in the UX industry?

“My advice follows John Steinbeck: “Bringing writers in at the end of the creative process, is like trying to put toothpaste into a tube”. Make sure you are on a project from the very beginning. Don’t wait for the ideation or prototyping phase to overlook you or your work. Be a part of the original design team.”

Is there any challenges that you are facing in your journey/work that block you from career growth?

“I would love to see more women working in tech and STEM careers. I think we owe it to the younger generation of Gen Z girls to help foster talent, act as mentors and provide a bigger support system.”

How the LTUX Seattle community has influenced your career/life/mindset?

“Born, raised, and educated in Seattle, I have seen my hometown grow and change so much. LTUX has served as a bridge to develop meaningful relationships with women in the tech industry and provided a unique platform for me to get to know other UXers in the city.”

What’s a fun fact people might not know about you?

“I’m a big fan of marine biology and used to volunteer at the Seattle Aquarium.”

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexandraduncansais/

======================================

Want to be featured in our Ladies that UX Stories?

Fill out this form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdybv6KUznInRvEU_dtS9FWVwWn3aC047sYT_QVbY33GMaNgg/viewform

Email LTUXSeattle@gmail.com for more information.

About Ladies that UX Seattle
We are a group of enthusiastic ladies who inspire, empower and support each other in a safe and casual environment. We encourage women who work in or are interested in the field of User Experience to join us to form a family of ladies that UX Seattle.

Check out our meetup page to see information about future events.
https://www.meetup.com/Ladies-that-UX-Seattle/

We are also on Slack, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn.

--

--