I Really Had to Shit, But Wondered:

Does Matt Damon Have Any Thoughts on the Matter?

Ernio Hernandez
Lady Pieces
Published in
2 min readDec 28, 2017

--

The day grew long and the sun headed for the horizon. My worry from early morning now set deep into the pit of my gut.

Should I just go? Would that be okay? What do I do?

I still had no answer. And I didn’t know what to do. I needed help. I was at my wit’s end. I began to have serious concern for my own well-being. Surely this was not something to just be taken lightly.

I consulted doctors, yes. Read the editorial features, in full. Double-checked all the research. Thought leaders had spoken at length on the subject. My family and friends offered various levels of insight and personal experiences. But I still didn’t hear from the one white, Harvard University-attended actor whose opinion really matters.

original photo by Nicolas Genin

Matt Damon, what would you do?

Yes, I have spent most of my life just going in a regular, healthy way. But we live in a different world now. In this highly volatile climate, I don’t feel comfortable just making up my own mind on the subject like someone with a developed brain, real scientific data, and informed opinions of my own. I need real guidance here.

I need a guy who won film’s highest honor in screenwriting and decided to put down his pen and concentrate on performing. I need the guy who gave us masterfully complex characters in such cinematic works as Stuck on You, EuroTrip, We Bought a Zoo and Happy Feet Two. Obviously, he knows more than I would about the real world. He has traveled all over it.

He has a wife. He has daughters. He understands women. He knows black people. He cares about water. He is all about breaking down barriers between people and water. Speaking of water, I really must go take care of Number 1 at least.

As for Number 2, I’m holding out to hear what one 5-foot-10, middle-aged Cambridge, Mass whole-hearted, white-bread hero has to say. We should all.

--

--