What the way you style your bangs is telling me…

Sienna Gonzalez
Lady Pieces
Published in
3 min readNov 15, 2020

A potentially controversial opinion.

I’m a firm believer that everyone can find the right style of bangs for them. Round face, square face, sweetheart or two-faced — there is a version of bangs that will work for your shape. The real quest, though, is in determining which one fits the current moment of your life. This is important to determine, because you’re the main character, babe, and you need a signature hairstyle.

We’ll go through the types of bangs, and you can determine which message you want to be sending. (Disclaimer: absolutely every bang style is 100% supported in this space, but let’s get into it…)

Blunt front bangs

“If we wore the same exact outfit, I’d make it look more expensive just because of my hair.”

or

“This is a wig.”

Side swept bangs

“I’m growing out another style of bangs that didn’t work for me.”

or

“The 2000s’ Myspace era is where I peaked, and I’m waiting for this to come back.”

Braided bangs aka “the Lauren Conrad”

“I fried my bangs with a flat iron, so I’m hiding it by braiding them so I look like a nordic virgin instead”

That’s all it says, I promise.

70s style curtain bangs

“I say I shop at thrift stores to shop ethically, but it’s really so you can’t recreate my outfits.”

or

“I like to debate my friends’ boyfriends on feminism, so I can gauge if they’re worth our time.”

Retro Pin Up bangs

“I’ve had three different metal bands write a song about me.”

or

“Your dad subscribes to my Onlyfans.”

Micro bangs

“I know you don’t normally like it, but I can change your mind about tofu.”

or

“I know about the best speakeasies in every major American city.”

and finally…

Curly bangs

“The fact that I can pull this off proves I have superior bone structure.”

Look, you’re the main character, but maybe you’re going through some important development and can’t decide. Feel free to play around! Use this guide to select your next signature look, and go take this world by the bangs.

--

--

Sienna Gonzalez
Lady Pieces

I’m a midnight toker based in Los Angeles. Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @siennagonz.