A Beautiful WFH day

Odunoluwa
Lagos Startup Lawyer
3 min readMar 27, 2020

My next post was supposed to be about meditation to mark my 700th meditation session which happened today according to calm.com but today’s WFH (work from home) experience is one I just have to write about.

As you may know, I wear many hats, two of them being a co-founder at The Longe Practice and DIYlawNG. We maintain two separate Slack workspaces for both businesses but we share an office-space so obviously, we sometimes need a common virtual workspace and DIYlaw’s workspace happens to be that space.

Today marked the end of the first full workweek of everyone working remotely and we decided to mark it by literally TGIFing. So we started a thankfulness game.

Rules of the game:

Rules of our Thankfulness Game

The game lasted the entire day and well, once we popped, we just couldn’t stop (yeah cheesy I know, the effect of prolonged WFH).

As I started writing this article, it was still going on. When everyone had gone on a turn, we opened the floor for anyone who wanted to give thanks for others, and OMG, there was no stopping us. It was literally a grat-fest (gratitude festival). I’m just going to let the screenshots do the talking.

Lanre kicking off the game
What’s a Thankfulness game without bants
Because what are we, without our Tech Lead? Temi is awesome!
Because Olusola can work hard!
Adaora is our bants mistress
I love this woman so much and my thanks for her will be longer than a trilogy
Because Monioluwa decided we all had to cry
Because one dose of Monioluwa is just not enough
This is about Damilola but common, I had to sprinkle a dash of our resident drama-queen, Monioluwa

I am extremely thankful for the interesting journey Funkola and I have been on, for the amazing team that make us look good to the world and win things like this (Congrats Girl! Mighty proud of you), and most especially for the entrepreneurs who let us serve them.

It’s been a tough week.

A privilege I do not take for granted is that I act as a confidante to some of my clients and knowing the impact this pandemic is having on their businesses has been no easy pill to swallow. Hearing the pain in their voices as they talk about the drastic decline in revenue and their inabilities to continue to pay salaries after this month has been extremely heartbreaking and gutwrenching so today’s Grat-Fest (as I have chosen to call it) was a welcome light and I thought it will be nice to share this experience with other teams who need this.

I encourage you to try it, it was very heartwarming and motivating and I wonder why we’ve never done this before and even face to face. I promise, you will feel lighter after this experience, and feeling light is one feeling we can't get enough of during this period.

Finally, if there’s one thing I know without a doubt (and the Prophetess Kelly Clarkson confirms it), it is that “What doesn't kill you makes you stronger”. We will emerge of this stronger together, don’t give up!

--

--

Odunoluwa
Lagos Startup Lawyer

Love Lover | Justice Entrepreneur | Entrepreneurs Lawver™ | Coffee Lover | Co-founder DIYlaw & The Longe Practice LP | Early Stage Investor | Rookie Developer