Final Four post game thoughts

Alesha Barrett
2 min readApr 3, 2016

--

Syracuse Orange fall to UNC 83–66.

I feel betrayed by this game and the way the game turned out.

I actually took the time to get invested in college basketball for the first time in my life and how am I rewarded? I get rewarded by not just one but TWO blowout final four games! And to top it all off, Syracuse, the team I was pulling for, lost 83–66.

This deeply saddened me when the game was over. However, I began to think of the amazing run the team made and the fact that they were a No. 10 seed that made it to the Final Four. Asking for them to defeat No. 1 seed North Carolina is a bit much and being angry about the loss itself is a bit unrealistic in nature.

So now I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not necessarily upset at the fact that they lost but I’m more upset at the fashion in which they lost- in blowout fashion.

I blame the loss on two things. Rebounds and points in the paint.

SU were absolutely demolished by North Carolina in the paint. The fact that North Carolina’s 3 pt. shooting was absolutely horrendous did not affect the game at all because the zone defense being played against them was easily broken, allowing them to get to the basket at will.

And even when they missed jump shots (which is what SU wanted), SU couldn’t rebound to save their lives.

I do have to commend this Syracuse team on how they never gave up until the final seconds when the game was literally out of reach. Trevor Cooney kept the team fighting back in the final minutes of the game by hitting big 3 point shots. However, it wasn’t enough to make the game a good competitive game that I was anticipating.

All in all, the Orange had an amazing journey this tournament and I’m actually going to consider following them next season to see how far they can make it.

As for me watching the Championship game tomorrow?

I’ll have to think about it.

--

--