Banno at Section 377

Gulal Salil
Lal Poster
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2018

I am driving at night and I have put Banno tera Swagger on full volume as I zoom past empty sidewalks. I light up a cigarette before pressing play, take a sexy puff and change gears as the song goes into full power. Banno tera swagger, laagey sexy, killing it on the bass. I light up that one smoke only for the song as somehow it makes me feel liberated and free. Other cars pass by me and wonder, as they must, why do I grin and laugh at Banno blowing up the 4-lane linkway from the industry to my home. I skirt my way through the prying eyes of my passer-bys, whiffing out another ring of a big 'fuck you' wishing I could increase my gear to the sixth.

Here I am, a man, feeling powered up because of a song which is full range woman swagger. I want to drive to it. I want to run to it and run like no one has ever run before. And dance. I want to dance like nobody's watching. I want to dance on the roads. In the night, under the moonlight. This is not a fever. This is me. This is who I am. Banno, Mannu, Aladin, Heer, stranger, androgyne, or a trans-everything.

Here I am. This is me.
Full-bodied and ready to love.

Such is my power to be.

-

(Section 377 scrapped)

--

--

Gulal Salil
Lal Poster

Writer, graphic artist and student of sociology & social anthropology ♦ I create stories in storyboards